Cobb's Creek Golf Club - Karakung Course

2.9102117647 2.9 stars from 5 (41)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 5762 yards
  • Slope: 115
  • Rating: 66.7
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 71 5762 yards 66.7 115
White 71 5625 yards 66.1 114
Red (W) 72 5421 yards 70.3 119

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 2.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 2.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 41 Reviews
5 stars:
1
4 stars:
6
3 stars:
13
2 stars:
5
1 stars:
16

recommend this course

19 out of 40 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city   Great for beginners   Challenges include elevation changes  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

None's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Improving"


None's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/02/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

The course is a nice test of your golf game. It has character but still lacks well manicured t boxes and fairways. It is getting better from a few years back and you can see all the work being done to restore the course back to its glory days.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



Saturno8415247's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course



u4513317's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



u184768126's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice Course for a Quick Round of Golf"


jk137jk's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is my go to course for a quick round of golf. I have played by myself with no one in front of me and been able to get through 18 in 2.5 hours. Although you won't find a stocked clubhouse or ball cleaners on every hole, you will get a challenging round and be back home in time for dinner. It is a perfect location for golfers in North/West Philadelphia.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"I enjoyed the course"


u1581802's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

There was a lot of hills, so be ready to drive up hill and Down hill. Mostly straight fairways that were decent. Just a tad confusing since there are two courses there, somehow ended up on Hole two of the other course while looking for 14. Overall it's a good course. I live in NJ and played after staying a night in PA. Don't think I would drive over the bridge to play again, there are equal courses closer to me. Traffic coming back sucked but that's Philadelphia for ya


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"tip my visor to greens keeper"


Brothermike's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2016
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you, like myself have stayed away for awhile because of poor conditions and not because of the layout you may want to play the Karakung course soon. I thought the greens (excluding ball marks) were really in good shape. Most if not all of the holes were very playable and for this time of year the tee boxes were acceptable. A few times lift, clean and place was required but not as much as in the past. I also noticed that they do have fairways as I was just missing must of them. If you're looking for a fast, inexpensive round give it a try. The course had their share of beginners and everyone of them let us play thru ( without us pushing). A most enjoyable 3 and a quarter hours.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Karakung is a no go!"


ACLucci's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Either play the Olde course or don't bother. I'd have rather played from my back yard.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Good city course"


Paxton1983160's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The tee boxes need some work around the edges, but most of the hitting areas are great. The challenge is not the length, it's the trees, the creeks, and the change in elevation on all but 2 holes. The two flat holes are the first two and they both have creeks. This course is a faster play because the more popular Olde course attracts the crowds.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


"Fast green's"


JessNels1957's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Green's were in great condition very fast fairways where narrow tree lined the rest of the course needed help cart paths very uneven fairways are rough didn't like having to cross busy streets to play different holes


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Very surprised"


thebigman63's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Driving through the neighborhoods to get to the course, one thinks how they have a golf course here. Surprisingly, there it was. It was in decent shape. Fairly open but some serious slopes. Don't place it in the right place, it rolls off the green. Definitely will play there again!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Karakung"


u000006516832's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/08/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played the course thinking how bad could this be for a cheap price. Well, I was wrong the Karakung course was one of the worst courses I have ever played. The greens were the only decent thing on the course. Everything else you could barely tell that you were on a golf course and not just some field. The mowers mowed around the greens while you were putting. All fairway shots were off of dirt for the most part. There were no yardage markers anywhere on the course. The Olde course looked decent and playable. Try that, Karakung shouldn't even be open as a course yet.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Quality of food & beverage: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Will not be returning"


Rocco7325388's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/07/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in very bad condition. Muddy uncut grass. Greens had crab grass growing in them. Cups were horribly cut. Couldn't tell the difference from the fairway and the rough. Tee boxes might as well have been nonexistent.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Take It For What It Is"


Sodes125's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/09/2015
Previously played Paired up at course Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Look I know this is not the best course in terms of layout or pace of play. But I looked at it this way......if I want to get better as a golfer I am better off playing 18 here than banging balls on the range for an hour or two. From what I hear the course is really better than what it used to be so Kudos to the groundskeepers and staff. Greens were decent and the fairways were pretty well kept for a Muni course. If players simply replaced divots and repaired ball marks....would be even better. So for under $20.....close, easy and a good option. So take it for what it is.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Give It a Try!"


mjonathan's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2015
Previously played Played as a single Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It's ben many years since playing Karakung and I was aware of the reviews. In fairness, I have to say that the fairways and greens were good. Yes the tee boxes aren't the best and the traps are not maintained. There are not good markings for hole numbers and length of hole .. I never did find a scorecard so used the course map on the back of the Cobbs Creek card.

This course is a good value for the money. There are actually several interesting holes along the way and it turned out to be a quick enjoyable round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"For $25, a tremendous value!"


u394622903's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I read a lot of reviews for here and went into the course expecting a bad day of golf. I was surprised to find that the course was not in bad shape. Certainly not a excellent course but the greens and fairways were in great shape. The tee boxes were being rebuilt so had to tee off from make shift tees. The only strange thing about this course was that there was a foot gold course woven into a lot of the holes which occasionally caused some confusion.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Karakung is Awful - Try the Olde Course"


borelli75's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2015
First time playing Played as a single Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

The review below me MUST be talking about the Olde course (which looked nice). They certainly did not experience a round of golf on Karakung,

Horrific conditions. Awful tee boxes. No distinction between fairway and rough. No yardage markers. Nothing surrounding the greens. $29 on Wednesday left me feeling robbed.

You could say it's a "beginners course", but if that's the first course i ever played I would probably sell my club immediately.

Olde course, however, looked to be in pretty nice condition. Give the olde course a go, avoid karakung at all costs.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


"Position, Position, Position"


robo112's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2015
Previously played Played as a single Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had a great time. The course will be much better shape in another week or so. It is a challenge with the hills and dog legs and enough water running thru the course to get in trouble and try your position shot skills.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Poor Condition"


mbw769's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/28/2014
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They should probably just build houses on it. It looks like the haven't watered the fairways all summer. Every shot is blind with no yardage markers on the course making it very difficult to know what club to it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed