Tournament Club of Iowa

4.8889000000 4.9 stars from 5 (9)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 7043 yards
  • Slope: 145
  • Rating: 74.0
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fee
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper attire is required at all times and is determined at the discretion of the golf professional staff.
Credit cards accepted: Amex MasterCard Visa Discover card(s) Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
King tees 71 7043 yards 74.0 145
Palmer tees 71 6551 yards 71.5 140
Deacon tees 71 6153 yards 69.0 122
Deacon tees (W) 71 6153 yards 74.6 137
Legend tees (W) 71 5039 yards 69.2 122

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 5.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 9 Reviews
5 stars:
8
4 stars:
1
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

9 out of 9 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"I play here frequently..."


LarryNoli's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

A fun course to play and can seem intimidating at first with problems either side, but the fairways are generous and some rough then trouble starts! Greens roll at about 11...maybe 12...the bunkers are well maintained. We play it at about 6,600 or so. Knowing which side you tend to miss it on is a big help....if you have a 2 way miss going-bring more ammo....


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Layout, One with nature"


gibbylb9's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2015
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Average weather

Reviewed on

This course is one of the best in Iowa. I try to play TCI 2 or 3 times a year. Great layout. There is a lot of trouble, but plays fair. Greens are sometimes beat up. Great 4 finishing holes. This course finishes Par 3, 3, 5, 4. Both Par 3s are neat first over a revine, next over water. Both about 175 yards. Then you get the 600 yard par 5. After that one of the most difficult par 4s on the course to finish. Great test of golf. This is a really fun course for a 4 per best shot too. I played with a friend from Florida and he said this would be $150 per round down there. Great Arnold Palmer Design.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Arnold Palmer shot-makers course"


Chad9159555's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

Play this course a few times per year. The layout is fun and is definitely a shot-makers course. Picturesque holes all around. The greens were a bit beat-up this year and the bunkers need some maintenance. Don't even think about walking this course!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great shape for the fall!"


coppersmith's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2012
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall in great shape -- except for aeration on three holes (to be expected at this time of year) -- no leaves, not even in the fairway fringe. Greens were in excellent condition.

A lot of meticulous maintenance makes for an enjoyable round of golf in a picturesque setting. Great job ground crews!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"nice golf course"


gregorymwagner's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2012

Reviewed on

upscale golf experience. Terrific golf course. Challenging with great holes and very scenic. Will play here anytime I am in the area and have the time (rare)


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Unique course design through wooded hills. Excellent condition."


u000005129959's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2012
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Rolling hills, fairways cut through the wooded countryside, manicured fringe. Each hole with a beautiful scenic view. Very challenging. Shot placement a must!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course!"


Greg3732319's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/28/2012
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played last weekend and had no problem getting on. The staff was very helpful and took care of what we needed.

As for the course even with the super hot summer the course was in good shape. Each hole offered something different. Also the course having both GPS in the carts and the LaserLink flagsticks was nice with multiple players on the course. Would play here again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great shape for Fall"


Kevin2580849's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/16/2012
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time at the course. It was beautiful and challenging. Every hole offered a different obstacle as well as a scenic view. Used every club in the bag which I enjoyed. I look forward to playing TCI again soon.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Challenge, but fun course to play."


gketel's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2012
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in outstanding shape for this time of year. Greens and fairways were leaf-free. Plan to lose a few golf balls if you are an average golfer. Fun course to play and very challenging.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed