Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa - Gary Player Signature Course

4.3049411765 4.3 stars from 5 (748)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7062 yards
  • Slope: 131
  • Rating: 73.6
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared golf shirts and proper length bermuda shorts or pants required. Prohibited are denim or blue jeans, halter-tops, bathing suits, sweat pants and t-shirts
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7062 yards 73.6 131
Gold 72 6643 yards 71.5 126
Silver 72 6044 yards 68.8 117
Silver (W) 72 6044 yards 75.0 136
Combo 72 5525 yards 72.2 130
Jade (W) 72 4907 yards 68.7 122

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 748 Reviews
5 stars:
322
4 stars:
306
3 stars:
79
2 stars:
30
1 stars:
11

recommend this course

656 out of 745 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city at a resort worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers a weekend splurge locals   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender


5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/19/2019
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent golf course"


fpalinkas's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/09/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were a bit slow but that is the only minor criticism. Everything else was excellent


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



JohnTee's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/02/2019
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent course! Well maintained with friendly staff! Will definitely play again!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


Tom9130796's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/25/2019
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great course. The Palm Springs summer is starting, it's getting hot but the course is still in good shape. The Tees, Fairways and rough were still nice & green. The greens are getting a little hard & fast. I'd like to see them run a tractor through some of the traps and loosen the hard pan sand up. One of my pet peeves is the ball washers. They were pretty much all dry and some had broken handles. For a resort style course, love to see them replace the ball washers,.

Overall this is a great course and it's possible to get a good price though Golf Now. Beware that they close early during the week (through the summer). Their last Tee time is around 9am, meaning they want to close the gates by 1 or 2 pm...


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


semaj0921's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really enjoyed playing here. I was second off the tee so wait time was not an issues. Course was in great shape.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u000004721397's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2019
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Fun course with a good mix of interesting holes. Lots of water in play on a number of the holes with a few fun forced carries. For June the fairways were immaculate. Greens were a little slow and dry but rolled true. Will be back soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great Track"


B1gTD0g's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Terrific venue.....great layout....plenty of interesting holes...and some easier ones too!!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



"Appalling Attitudes"


Rocktonk's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Played the Gary Player course at Mission Hills for the first time on Saturday. The layout and condition of the course were nothing short of outstanding. Unfortunately, the pace of play -- and the attitude of the staff -- was nothing short of despicable. First, the guy at the front desk couldn't have cared less if we were there. No smile; minimal eye contact. Almost as if we were imposing on him by checking in. Then, a two hours and 30 minute pace on the front nine! Five hours total!! Waited on EVERY shot. At the turn, we stopped by the clubhouse to use the bathroom. When we casually mentioned to another foursome waiting to tee off that they were in for a slow, death march, the course ranger overheard our comment and went ballistic. He rudely interjected himself into our conversation, making excuses for the pace of play, even complaining that he had to be out on the course trying to speed things up......which he obviously was unable to do. When my wife said she felt especially bad for the twosome behind us, his response was, "Well, a twosome shouldn't be on the course on a Saturday!" Great customer service, huh??!! Never offered an "I'm sorry for the pace of play; we're doing the best we can to speed it up; hopefully the back nine will be faster......" Only attitude and excuses. Too bad because this is a really good golf course to play -- if you have all day to play it. Troon should be ashamed.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice ciurse"


xhaxhidale's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on

Nice course, greens were slow but they rolled pretty good

I was expecting something a little tougher but still enjoyed and the condition overall was great


I recommend this course



u00000473088's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Playing fast at the Player course"


JimKinHB's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2019
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

I played late on a Sunday afternoon. Teed off around 3:15 as a single and was done before 6:00 pm. To add a little more detail...

The pro shop and restaurant are nothing to write home about, but they have everything you need and are staffed by friendly people.

I arrived around 3:00 having been told that the last tee time was 3:20. I paid and hit a few balls on the grass range and a few chip shots in the short game practice area before heading out. Range balls were included in the greens fee.

The layout of the course is pretty nice There is a good mix of longer and shorter par 4s. The par 3s are manageable distances. There was water in play, but nothing overly daunting. Most of the fairways are lined with houses, but there is room to miss. In fact, since most of the homes are elevated above the fairways, you tend to get the "members bounce" when you miss left or right. Like a lot of desert courses, wind can be a factor. During my round, it got pretty breezy on the back nine, making club and shot selection a challenge.

Course conditions were very good for my round. There were very few thin spots in the fairways. The rough was playable. The greens looked and felt like they were a little slow, but they putted true and consistently for speed.

Overall, this is a nice course. Between the layout, conditions , pace of play and the staff, I had a great day.

The only limitation is the lack of a nice lounge for a post-round cocktail. I recommend this course, and will probably play it again when I have a chance.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"No marshaling pace of play"


Rickdoyle99's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I don’t typically write reviews, but the Westin should be embarrassed withhow the staff pays little attention to the pace of play. They let a foursome who had no business being on a golf course play, followed by a six some. Needless to say,pace of play was ridiculously slow. Most importantly, there was not a Marshall to be found. At the end the staff really didn’t seem to care. This is a management issue that Westin should address if it wants to have people come back.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Player"


nickesquire's avatar
Top 1 Contributor
California Advisor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2019
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Rode 36 from the Golds (6643/71.5/126) in slightly more than 4H as a single twilight using Forelinx. The weather was 90ish, partly cloudy and breezy. The course is beginning to dry out with the wind and temps near 90 every day recently. Drivers are now reaching areas I could not a month ago and the firmness around the greens definitely needs to be taken into account on your appraoch shots. The tees were level, lush and well maintained for divots. The fairways are mowed close, lush and well maintained with few unfixed divots. The rough is not over seeded here and is mowed low, so no lost ball challenges. Part weeds, part Bermuda coming out of dormancy, you usually have questionable lies in this stuff. The sand traps have decent sand but are not maintained that well here. Mediocre. The greens were nice, smooth and firm. You just had to adjust to the medium to medium slow speed. The customer service is almost always excellent here. Drink cart out making the rounds early in the round and plenty of water stations on the course. GPS on the carts is a +. Fun course, nothing fancy or overly memorable, but a solid layout overall. Recommended.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Favourite course in the desert"


vmju5qPa3ZKbB0VZwtnM's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played here for the first time this year . As always , as we play this every year on vacation , it is one of the best courses in the desert . Great layout , always in perfect condition , fantastic views , and great greens . This is a really good layout and also for lower handicap women the combo course is a great test . As are the gold and blacks for the men .


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Rick4131754's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2019
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Excellent Course"


Victrevino's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a great time playing this course, can't wait to come back!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Gary Player"


nickesquire's avatar
Top 1 Contributor
California Advisor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2019
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Rode the Golds (6643/71.5/126) in slightly less than 3H as a single mid day. The weather was 90ish, clear and breezy.

I enjoy the Player layout. Nothing tricked up, it's tough but not overly demanding. Tight course in spots with numerous lakes to navigate over/around. Really good all grass practice facilities that are included with your fee.

The tees were level, lush and very well maintained for divots.

The fairways were lush and well maintained with few unfixed divots. Very nice to play from!

The rough is not over seeded here and is not maintained very high. The main thing that is penal is that the lie will usually be questionable because the Bermuda is lumpy even though not high.

The sand traps were mediocre. Several had water ruts from sprinkler runoff. While the sand quality was okay, most looked like they had not been raked in everal days. VERY POOR for a Troon facility IMO.

The greens were very nice, smooth and medium to medium fast speed. They looked quicker than they were, seemed like every putt I got online came up just short. They are firm but still held irons okay.

The customer service was very good from everyone encountered. No drink cart today but plenty of water stations on the course. GPS on the carts is a +. Solid course, Recommended.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Even Gary would leave the putts short"


rwspga84's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course, fun layout with a good mix of holes.

Found the greens to be quite slow which surprised me. Couldn’t convince myself to hit them hard enough


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Excellent Course for All Abilities"


Pastorbrady's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Went out in very windy conditions. Despite that the course was in excellent shape. It is a course that is open to golfers of all abilities with the teal tees about 100 yds up from the silver, which tees the men played from. That equalized the game quite a bit. My wife enjoys this course and always plays her best golf on it. She normally scores around 130 on 18 but was able to score 104 yesterday even in the wind. Played a four hour round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed