Grey Rock Golf Club

3.7330058824 3.7 stars from 5 (329)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6909 yards
  • Slope: 139
  • Rating: 74.6
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Grey Rock Golf Academy"

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Discover

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6909 yards 74.6 139
Blue 72 6378 yards 71.9 132
White 72 5732 yards 69.4 127
Red (W) 72 5215 yards 72.2 123

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 329 Reviews
5 stars:
81
4 stars:
146
3 stars:
61
2 stars:
24
1 stars:
17

recommend this course

260 out of 328 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals advanced golfers entertaining clients   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens water hazards   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Horrible Greens"


BWinTX's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Never seen greens so bad. I saw reviews from a few weeks ago about greens recently being sanded. Called course a couple days before playing and the pro shop guy told me he just played, front 9 were a little spotty and back 9 were perfect. Upon arriving, pro shop said he was giving me a discount from $85 to $70, sweet!. He didn't explain why. Putting green was in awesome shape and had similar expectations for course greens. At first tee, the starter mentioned the front 9 greens were spotty, back in great shape. Well...they are all horrible. Heavily sanded, many bare spots.

Tees and fairways were in great shape. Liked the course layout. Would love to play again after the greens come in.

My guess is someone made a horrible mistake and chemically burned them. Course claimed frost but I dont by that. I live in the area and all our other courses are fine.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Nice Day on the course!"


u692045039's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff was very friendly and helpful, facilities are nice, the practice area while well appointed had been over used. The tee boxes and fairways were in very good condition. I would have given more stars for course conditions but the GREENS need help. Hold 8 had lost the green almost totally. We did enjoy our round even so and would play this course again .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"what about the greens?!"


kscopes's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2019
Previously played Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course on and off for 25 years. It's a great layout and the conditions are superb.....except for the greens. The greens are the slowest that can be imagined.

Not sure what's going on here, but just wish that a course of this caliber would have better greens.

I am sure they will remedy this.....hopefully soon!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Horrible greens, rest of the course in great shape"


atxg0lf3r's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Haven't played this course since Dec which the greens were in good shape. Decided to play here again due to cheap hot deal and now i know why the deal was cheap. Greens were a joke, felt like they just buzzed a circle of grass in the fairway and stuck a pin in the ground, called it a green. Basically no grass on the greens, super bumpy and sandy, felt like i was playing the greens on the 9 hole course downtown off Barton Springs.

Rest of the course in excellent shape, just the greens were a big let down. I'm guessing they will be closing the course soon to redo the greens or i hope they do.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course



Flipflop70's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/06/2019
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Grey Rock"


sweishuhn2004's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Thank goodness for Golf Now and a GN coupon I just so happened to find. We have had a ton of rain in Austin over the last several months and the greens were in horrible condition (very slow, multiple dead spots, etc...). On several occasions I had to move my ball 5 to 10 feet on the green just to get a putt that would roll decent. Again, there were dead patches everywhere. The fairways, roughs and bunkers were very well maintained. If you are able to get get a round under $50, I would recommend this course, but if you have to pay $80 (typical weekend round) save your money and go elsewhere.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



leecombs2906's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Several of the greens are in poor shape but the rest of the course was in good shape. The service at the snack bar is ridiculously slow making it almost impossible to get anything to eat at the turn and maintain pace of play.

I’ve always liked Greyrock but they need to step up the service


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


"Grey Rock Memorial Day"


chrissz's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2019
Previously played Walked Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

tee to green the course is in excellent shape, the greens are less than acceptable, appears they have have some challenges there, very slow and bumpy, really takes away from an otherwise terrific course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Bad Greens"


u000003497892's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Was shocked at how bad the greens are on this course. Very slow and sandy. I played there about a year ago and the greens were fine but they are awful. Puzzling considering all the rain we have had the last 8 months.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course



jklspdlldlfmm's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Not as bad as everyone thinks it is"


jl12's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2019
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Before going to play at Grey Rock, I read all of the terrible reviews about how bad the greens are right now.

Yes, some of the greens are in pretty bad shape, but THEY ARE NOT THAT BAD. That being said - they should not be charging people full price range to play here right now ($50-80/person).

I get the frustration if you paid >$50/person & didn't know the condition of course or if you are going out there expecting to shoot a 71, but that's no the case for most golfers. I read the reviews, but have been wanting to play at Grey Rock for awhile now - so I waited till we could get a really good "deal" time ($22/person).Thought it was well worth that price.

Greens were a little frustrating at times, but to be honest I'd probably still 2 putt even if the greens were in perfect condition. The rest of the course was in great condition especially after all of the rain we have had recently.

You wanna see bad/unplayable greens... go play Olde Oaks Golf Course in Bossier City, LA & then come try to complain about the greens at Grey Rock.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Greens completely destroyed!"


u6865338's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I played at Grey Rock yesterday and I was really excited after all the good stuff I heard. However, the greens are completely destroyed! I don't know what happened, but they are unplayable. According to one of the members, this never happened before, so I guess I just had bad timing.

I moved to Austin last August and have so far played roughly 15-20 courses, this was one of the most expansive ones. I was shocked, and quite frankly angry that I paid for an upscale experience and got the BY FAR worst greens I have seen around Austin.

DO NOT play here within the next 1.5 month, there is no way those greens will recover earlier than that.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Poor Greens"


mrklemm9's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The rest of the course was in pretty decent condition, but the greens were long (did have heavy rains a couple days before) and there were at least 6 greens that weren't playable due to some sort of damage that they have not recovered from.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Poor Green Conditions"


uBQKB1394BQ's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very enjoyable course. Courteous staff. Greens were in very bad condition. The worst was the par three number eight. Hopefully they can get these conditions reversed. Otherwise great course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Sad greens"


cooldude55's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tee boxes and faiirways were excellent as well a bunkers. But the greens were utter crap. Most of them were mainly sand and very little grass. This is so bad that I don't expect them to have reasonable greens all this season. Only a handful of greens were at least decent to putt on.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Don’t waste your time."


Coltarm45's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

Never a person to write bad reviews but with the green fees they are charging it’s unbelievable. The greens are absolutely atrocious. Maybe if I didn’t damage my putter due to all the sand and potholes I wouldn’t have said anything. The city needs to re-evaluate what’s going out there. Such a beautiful course to have greens this bad. Hopefully they can figure it out.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Greens under repair"


tnatoli's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens have not been maintained. Hopefully they will be repaired before next year. Shame - fairways are good- more sand than green on the greens.

Very disappointing.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Greens"


jakety2302's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It’s hard to believe that the course is charging players full price when most, if not all, of the greens have been lost. It’s like putting through sand traps. An absolute joke that the course charged full weekend price. Should’ve been at least half price. I’ve played the course two other time and the greens were good. Never going back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Nice layout. Horrible greens"


ddeleff's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I picked this course because it looked beautiful online and it was. I would say the greens were in bad shape but calling them "green" would be misleading. They are mostly devoid of grass and have some sort of green chemical on them. I'll be washing all of my clubs as soon as I get home. If the greens weren't such a disappointment i would be giving it four stars and highly recommending it to others. Our twosome finished in just under three hours.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I don't recommend this course


"WORST GREENS IN TEXAS"


gjrocket9's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This title is not hyperbole. There is NOTHING WORSE then paying a good deal of money, $75 in this case, and having the greens be UNPLAYABLE. The worst part is the Starter, the Golf Shop Folks, literally no one gave anyone playing a head's up. The season pass holders at the course advised us to complain, saying "Yep, there are absolutely horrible" as we made the turn, but who wants to deal with that? Every single green was horribly diseased and covered with with sand/fertilizer. Shame on this course for not communicating to golfers and charging such an obscene price for a terrible experience.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Greens need time to grow in"


BWinTX's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Greens are horrible, many bare spots and heavily sanded. Tees and fairways in great shape.

I saw a review from a few weeks ago that mentioned the greens and I called a couple days before playing and was told the front was spotty & sanded on Tuesday, back was in good shape. Upon arrival, our fees were dropped from $85 to $70 as a discount, didn't say why. Great news to me as I was hosting guests and covered fees for 4.

Putting green was in great shape so I was hopeful. At first tee, the starter mentioned the front 9 was sanded and the back was in good shape. Well..... all the greens were horrible.

Liked everything else about the course. Would play again but not until greens are confirmed. Based on what I saw, it will be 4-6 weeks minimum to be reasonable.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed