Reston National Golf Course

3.7554411765 3.8 stars from 5 (233)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6880 yards
  • Slope: 131
  • Rating: 73.0
  • Layout

  • 11875 Sunrise Valley Dr, Reston, Virginia 20191, Fairfax County
  • (703) 620-9333
  • (703) 620-1660
  • www.restonnationalgc.com

Year built: 1969
Architect(s): Ed Ault (1969)
Type: Public
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 71 6880 yards 73.0 131
Black 71 6479 yards 71.1 128
Silver 71 5936 yards 68.4 123
Silver (W) 72 5890 yards 74.1 129
Red (W) 71 5580 yards 72.4 125

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 3.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 233 Reviews
5 stars:
51
4 stars:
113
3 stars:
47
2 stars:
11
1 stars:
11

recommend this course

193 out of 233 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is in the 'burbs near the airport convenient to the city   Great for locals advanced golfers beginners   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes plays long   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Fast green"


nohgood's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/17/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Only con was lady's tee is not on the original tee box. Other than that, awesome as usual.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Cart path only during a heat wave?"


u442219779's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/20/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had a few scraper tee time during a heat wave, and we were informed that it was cart path only, because the heat hurts the grass. I don’t buy the reason , but I respected the decision and kept to the cart path.

I would have purchased coffee and a bite to eat, but the grill wasn’t open yet.

Once we got out to the course, it certainly didn’t seem dried out. In fact the greens were quite slow and some were even moist. I enjoy the layout of the course, and I've played here for years.

My cart partner got a reminder from one of the assistant greenskeepers that he needed to return to the cart path when he was in the woods opposite the fairway. Odd since the next hole a foursome was in the fairway, and the same greenskeeper turned a blind eye to it completely. I thought maybe they updated the status, but nope. Just selective enforcement of the rules.

An unfortunate aspect of this course is that the residents around it seem to resent it's presence, and actively cut through to walk dogs, jog, or whatever they want. Saw an owner with 2 dogs off leash on the path of #15..

Speaking of #15, when our group was putting out on the green, a different assistant greenskeeper drove right up and started doing donuts in the bunkers, to rake the sand. I would’ve thought that type of maintenance would begin prior to the tee times, but who knows.

The greens are in good shape, but they were really slow. The number of downhill putts our group had stop short was really something. Also, the break is never what it seems until the last 12” from the cup. It’s almost like the cups are little mounds with holes inside.

At any rate, this may have been my final visit to Reston National. The cold reception coupled with the random citizens waltzing through the course outweighs the convenience of the location, especially with Herndon just a bit further away, where they have equivalent cost, but much nicer staff and food options.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course



jgawrys26's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/17/2019
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



seoms's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Good Course - great value"


sfabian1187's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great round - got ran off 18 with a storm but overall a good time. Bunkers were in rough shape but probably because lots of rain in the area. Fairways and Greens were perfect shape and rolling nicely. Definitely coming back.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/12/2019

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy you had a good experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!


"Disappointed Visitor"


u000002238907's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I am visiting for the weekend and wanted to try this course. I reserved a tee time and rental clubs. The rental set was pretty well used set of Clevelands. Driver head had dents. Irons still had grass stains from the last time used. There were only 11 clubs in the bag. Missing 5 metal, 3 iron and gap wedge.

The starter, Eric, was very friendly and helpful. Practice area was nice. The course was in pretty good condition, but I was amazed at the number of unrepaired ball marks on the greens. I guess I'll try another course my next time in town.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 07/12/2019

Thank you for your recent feedback. Our rental sets have a specific make up of 11 clubs per the manufacturer's standard. We will take this opportunity to look into newer sets with more clubs in them. We hope to see you next time you are in town.




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/29/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/01/2019

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!




3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/29/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/01/2019

Thank for your review Jason. We appreciate it and hope we see you again soon!


"Kids camp ruins the round"


u000004785273's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/26/2019
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Reston National has been my home course since 2002 and generally would recommend the course if it weren't for the kids camp. They send the kids out in caravans of carts to try and find an open spot to cut in front of groups already playing on the course. The course was jam packed with players hitting shots as they drive by and around the groups which is extremely dangerous not to mention distracting. Even with the course full they some how inserted themselves 2 groups ahead of us causing a huge back up on the front nine. This is a daily camp during the week. Pace of play has always been an issue but the camp makes it unbearable. Take your money and your friends to another course at least until the end of summer!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 07/01/2019

u000004785273

We are sorry to here about your recent experience on the golf course and would love to hear more about it. We value your feedback and hope we can have you back out to Reston National again soon.


"Kids camp more important the paying public golfers!"


u000004785273's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/26/2019
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

I've been playing Reston National for over 18 years and had great experiences there until the last 2 summer when they start the kids camp. The camp runs from 8:30am-4pm Mon-Fri. During that time, the kids over run the snack bar, take over the putting green and eventually head out on the course driving around and by the public golfers already on the course. On 3 different incidents where a group of kids has jumped in to play the hole that I was teeing off at. There was no open space and we were waiting for the group in front of to clear. This is a very dangerous situation for the kids and it ruins the already slow pace of play and the pleasure of playing golf. I've tried to get the management to stop this practice and just put the kids off the 1st tee in consecutive groups, but they refused. Their solution is to stop playing your round and call the clubhouse to try and get it resolved, slowing your round by 20-30 minutes.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/26/2019
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Martin8612770's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/25/2019
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Pace of play"


None's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First off, I have no complaints regarding the course, I was very pleased with the course conditions. I was paired with a twosome who honestly need some practice before heading out to the course. One of them couldn’t lift the ball at all.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/01/2019

Thank you for your feedback.We realize how important pace of play is and will continue to address any factors that may affect it. We hope to see you again soon.


"What a treat!"


ltusing's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

I have to say that I just played a course with the best conditions that I have played this year. The greens were absolutely perfect.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/01/2019

Thank you ltusing for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your experience at Reston National! We hope we see you again soon.



RG0449BA545172A0DE43's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/22/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/01/2019

Thank you for your recent feedback. We appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!


"slow"


u320000198's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2019
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

pace of play was slow, teed off on a Friday at 2:20, finished 7:45, greens were average speed but over all in good shape, the greens need to be rolled. Some sand traps were GUR.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course



jojala1's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2019
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

a great day all around. we had a very enjoyable round.pace of play great. we played at 3 pm. we will be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Worst Managed Course of All Time"



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

Consistent 5+ hour rounds. Already backed up 1/2 hour before 9am in the morning. They talk about pace of play, but no enforcement. Group in front all hit their tee shots dead right into tall weeds and they spent 10-15 minutes looking for them while the starter just sat and watched the whole time. Took 1:10 minutes to play 3 holes.

Asked starter how long a round is taking and he said it’s pushing 5 hours and expected to increase.

Save your money and more importantly, your time and play elsewhere. This course has always had a reputation for slow play and it’s getting worse.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 06/09/2019

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for your recent experience. While we continue to take pace of play seriously, we will also continue to make all efforts to improve our guests experiences on the golf course. Thank you again.


"Lots of friendly staff course in great shape"


Jsardone's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/05/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always a Pleasure to play in my hometown beautiful Golf Course


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/10/2019

Hello JSardone,

Thank you for your comments.. we are glad you’ve enjoyed playing at Reston National. We hope to see you again real soon!



Gerald5261171's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Excellent course"


u3369917's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in excellent condition. Greens roll very well. Challenging course and plenty long.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed