Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run

3.9983411765 4.0 stars from 5 (1056)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7014 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 73.7
  • Layout

  • 100 Indigo Run Dr, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina 29926
  • (843) 689-2200
  • (843) 681-6799
  • goldenbear-indigorun.com

Year built: 1993
Architect(s): Jack Nicklaus (1993), Bruce Borland (1993)
Type: Semi-Private
Style: Woodland
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: ParView GPS Full Color System on

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirts are required. Shorts must be Bermuda-length. Tennis shoes are allowed.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7014 yards 73.7 132
Blue 72 6643 yards 72.0 128
Gold 72 6184 yards 70.1 122
White 72 5259 yards 66.4 115
Red 72 4974 yards 68.9 115

Jack Nicklaus designed the golf course at the Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run. The 18-hole, public course is touted as having one of the best layouts in the area. The par-72 course offers 7,014 yards of challenging and fun golf. Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run's design emphasizes strategy rather than power. Sand and water hazards add interest to the course. In addition to providing a great game of golf, the course also has picturesque scenery with the many oaks and pines that snake though the course. It has been named one of America's Top 100 Courses priced under $100.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.7 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 1056 Reviews
5 stars:
282
4 stars:
508
3 stars:
172
2 stars:
67
1 stars:
27

recommend this course

880 out of 1053 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions at a resort   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards narrow fairways   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Staff could care less about your experience."



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2019
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff were rude. None of the sand traps were maintained, they were like hitting off of concrete. I would never play there again. Save your time and money.!!!!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 06/26/2019

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you didn't enjoy your experience with us and that our staff didn't provide a great experience for you. We would love the chance to learn more about your time with us. Please reach out to us at goldenbeargolfclub@gmail.com at your earliest convenience. Thank you again and we look forward to speaking with you!


"Great value"


pro2be's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were in good shape and had plenty of speed. Careful of hitting your tee shots through the doglegs. Enjoyed the round!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/25/2019

Awesome! We're pleased that our course conditions met your expectations and that you enjoyed the challenge it presented. We hope to have you back again soon for your next round with us!


"Best in Hilton Head"


Martin2567714's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tops in my book at any price. Course layout and condition were fantastic. Beautiful surroundings a phone at the 9 hole tee box to call in and order. Well worth the money. Would play here again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/20/2019

Hi, Martin. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run and consider us a favorite of yours. We look forward to seeing you at the course soon for another 5-star experience!


"Great course in Hilton Head"


u885471231's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Golden Bear touts itself as a family friendly course with tees for all skill levels. We found the front nine a bit less demanding that the back nine. Water on a number of the holes that demand some course management. This is a thinking man's course not a grip it and rip it.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/24/2019

Fantastic! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our course and the challenge it presented. We can't wait to have you back again soon for your next round at Golden Bear!


"Very nice, challenging track"


Dansgolf's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Golden Bear is a pretty low-country course that tracks through a residential neighborhood. It features a lot of trees throughout, and water is very prominent - often times hidden.

Greens were rolling very true and fast, the fairways, in spite of a heavy rainfall earlier in the week rolled out very nicely. The only negative is that the tee boxes (we played from the gold - 6100 yards) were rather beat up on many of the holes. Recommended to the pro shop to move the tee markers more frequently to allow the areas to heal.

Overall a very good value and a challenging course. Nicklaus was up to his design tricks with risk / reward considerations on a lot of the holes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/17/2019

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us Dansgolf. Your feedback is extremely valuable, and we look forward to delivering you excellent service again soon. Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run thanks you!




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2019
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/10/2019

Terrific! Come back soon!




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2019
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/06/2019

Awesome! Come back soon!


"Tough but fair"


Hank5905200's avatar
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoyed the course much than I have before. Always tough but like any other good course if you keep it out of the rough and woods you have a chance to get it on in regulation. I found the greens to be very true. Lots of fun.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/05/2019

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and the challenge it presented. We look forward to having you back again soon for your next round with us!


"Don’t follow Golf Now Rules"


Hank5905200's avatar
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My rate through Golf Now was clearly $75 per player plus tax. We we charged $79.81 per player plus tax. If you want to belong to Golf Now either agree to charge what they say or get out of it. Not right.

Irritated


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/03/2019

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course but we apologize if there was any confusion with your rate. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have you back again soon!


"Fun Course"


u000006305695's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, greens were in nice shape and had some great fairways. We played after 3 for only $39. Club house closed somewhat early, but had water and ice machine outside of the club house. Definitely worth checking out.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/03/2019

Awesome! We're pleased that our course conditions met your expectations and that you found us to be a good value. We appreciate your review and we hope to have you back again soon for your next round!



u000003687721's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I loved the course layout. My only complaint was that the fairways were very thin.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/24/2019

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed the challenge of our layout and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having you back again soon for your next round!


"5th time this time- 5 weeks"


u3229882's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Best of the three courses we’ve played .Sometimes we moved along. 2 times very slow.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/29/2019

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and we appreciate your feedback on our pace of play. We look forward to having you back again soon for your next round!


"A beautiful friendly place to play"


fishyracer24's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A beautiful friendly place to play, but very wide open and not too challenging...The staff however will bend over backwards to make your experience fantastic !!!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/29/2019

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and that our staff left a great impression on you. We look forward to having you back again soon for your next round with us!


"Tight Nicklaus track"


joelongo3's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good variance of alternating dogleg holes. You have to plan every tee shot. The par 3s not as dramatic as other Nicklaus designs.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/29/2019

Awesome! We're pleased that you enjoyed our course and the challenge it presented. We hope to have you back again soon for your next round with us!


"Good value for the money"


u518355894's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed the course. Only complaint was no food available after 5pm. We didn’t tee off unti 3:20 and weren’t aware the clubhouse closed at 5. We made the turn a little after 5 and couldn’t get anything to eat or drink. Other than that we had an enjoyable afternoon on the course which was in great shape. Great value for the price. Just bring snacks if you’re playing late.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/24/2019

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and that you found us to be a great value. We apologize that you weren't able to eat or drink anything during your round. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to having you back again soon!



markhadlock's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/23/2019

Awesome! Glad you enjoyed your experience with us!


"Akron Ohio hacker"


Dlojackman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I loved the course. It has everything to challenge the golfer but is fun to play. The greens were excellent. I scored quite well so I now know on a good course I’m better than I thought. Lol


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/21/2019

Terrific! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our course and the challenge it presented. We can't wait to have you back again soon for your next round at Golden Bear!


"Best so far"


rarrafnebe's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good condition, some bare spots in the fairways almost none on the .greens

On the second nine was following two « big « man » searching for balls not in the fairways!!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/20/2019

Fantastic! We're glad that our course conditions met your expectations and we appreciate your review. We look forward to having you back again soon for your next round!


"Slow Play...Bad Greens"


fxa4975's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Five Hour plus round and no rangers in sight. Greens were very firm and covered in in sand (not aerated). No one around our group was happy about the pace of play. Would not recommend this course to anyone.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 05/17/2019

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you didn't enjoy your round with us and we appreciate your feedback. We hope you'll give us another try in the future!




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good shape. Weather was perfect. Had a pleasant round.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/17/2019

Great! We're glad that our course conditions met your expectations and we appreciate your review. We look forward to having you back again soon!



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed