Kiva Dunes Golf Course

4.7111470588 4.7 stars from 5 (457)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7092 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 73.9
  • Layout

  • 815 Plantation Rd, Gulf Shores, Alabama 36542, Baldwin County
  • (888) 833-5482, (251) 540-7000
  • (251) 540-7003
  • kivadunes.com
Write Review

Year built: 1995
Architect(s): Jerry Pate (1995)
Type: Resort
Style: Links
Greens: Tiff-Eagle Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: No denim, collared shirts required
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Accepted

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7092 yards 73.9 132
Blue 72 6464 yards 70.8 129
White 72 5849 yards 67.8 119
Red (W) 72 5006 yards 68.5 115

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 457 Reviews
5 stars:
367
4 stars:
75
3 stars:
10
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

449 out of 457 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort worth the drive   Great for a weekend splurge advanced golfers group getaways   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens water hazards   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u8209841's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2022
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, wished there were more coastal views.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course in a challenging location"


u314162355447's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2022
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cuba dunes is a great course with the added difficulty of the near constant coastal wind. I would recommend this course to anyone who has been thinking of playing at Kiva


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Day"


charliecab7's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2022
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This would be all 5 Stars but they had aerated the greens. We were aware of this prior to booking! It is an amazing place with great service and clubhouse! Hope to return!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



sc987's avatar
Age:  25-34

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2022

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



JimNDboy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2022
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Terrific"


ZachS93au's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2022
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played with a gentleman named Dan. Swing looks like he would be around bogey but is actually a scratch golfer. Like dusted my tale…. his course knowledge helped tremendously though I was rarely able to capitalize on it. Dan I hope you and your family make it to Mikees!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000003617260's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2022
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great!"


justnguyen's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2022
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course! Tight in spots but fair. Greens fast and didn’t hold approach shots from more than 100 yds but roll was true and condition good. Best course played in area by a lot!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2022
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course wrong week"


gc1624177425's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2022
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall we really enjoyed playing the course. Wide open fairways for the most part that suits my driver off the tee. Greens were in great shape and fast!!! Since it was Mullet Toss week there were some foursomes on the course that impeded our progress but even with those challenges it was an amazing experience. Would definitely return there no question.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2022
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u4869506's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2022
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



cuspo1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2022
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Conditions were tough with the wind gusting to 35 mph. Course was great and would recommend for others. A ranger was needed, we were a twosome and had two twosomes in front of us. We waited on every shot after the first 5 holes. The first twosome in front of us was extremely slow and the twosome in front of us started out playing the tips in extremely tough conditions. All that said enjoyed the course and facilities.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Good not great…."


u00000888724's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2022
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I’ve played Kiva quite a few times over the years and always come away content but not blown away. Part of this is likely due to the layout which despite being so close to the gulf and bay doesn’t have any views of either. Also, a number of holes are parallel to one another (particularly back to back par fives on the backside). Course conditions overall we’re good though the greens were very firm and our group found them generally unreceptive to most approach shots. Based on the fees and reputation I would expect everything to be a notch better. We will no doubt play again but it’s not the knockout that it could be.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Could have been so much better"


u000002399176's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2022
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Got there a little early Steve the starter managed to move us up and get us off in front of another group without us asking and we were able to play our round in four and a half hours which was great people there very nice very kind, the course though I thought we could have been marked with signage a little better you better have a GPS or a rangefinder cuz it's hard to find yardage markers the cart path at one point you have to drive all the way back to the beginning of a hole back into traffic heading towards other golfers hitting towards you which I thought was kind of dangerous I wouldn't pay 110 to play it again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



PI0qbqeoRNE4zWdK0Twr's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2022
First time playing

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


Patrick1972899's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2022
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course and really fun layout. Greens were in amazing shape and staff was great!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



chuck1104's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2022
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2022
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u000001256033's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2022
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000001256033's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2022
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed