Stonewall Golf Club at Lake Manassas

4.4471058824 4.4 stars from 5 (130)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7002 yards
  • Slope: 145
  • Rating: 73.8
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Dress code: No Denim, Collared Shirt And Bermuda Shorts Required
Credit cards accepted: Visa, MC, AMEX

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7002 yards 73.8 145
Blue 72 6582 yards 72.1 141
White 72 6191 yards 70.3 137
Red 72 5681 yards 67.9 131
Red (W) 72 5681 yards 73.2 133
Gold 72 4889 yards 64.2 122
Gold (W) 72 4889 yards 68.5 124

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 130 Reviews
5 stars:
71
4 stars:
44
3 stars:
11
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

120 out of 130 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers water hazards forced carries   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views dinner  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Rolling hills next to the lake"


u4045179's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/13/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fantastic rolling hilly layout next to Lake Manassas with memorable holes. The course was in great condition. It’s a challenge but a fun one.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course.. customer service is average"


u472262382's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/25/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tuesday was a quiet day at the course. Felt like we had the entire course to ourselves. Nice to have a beverage cart and Alyessa was great. Very friendly and let us know she was finishing up after the last time we saw her. As for the rest of staff interestion it was very average. Never played the course so didnt get much direction or information on the course. Price was a good deal online. Overall great layout. Long layout with beautiful views. The greens were very fast but great conditions.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/12/2019

Hi. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Stonewall GC!


"Stonewall's Beauty"


Patrick6548175's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/25/2019
Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Stonewall Golf Course is nestled in the wooded area of the Lake Manassas residential community in Gaineville, VA, right off Route 29, about 45 minutes from DC, and 20 minutes from Warrenton, VA.

Each hole is unique, and many with splendid views of the lake. While challenging enough for the best of golfers, it's not intimidating for the average golfer. The course is well-maintained year-round, and the staff is exceptionally pleasant and supportive.

I've golfed in 42 states and 40 countries, including most of the renowned courses (Augusta National, Oak Hill, Muirfiled, TPC at Sawgrass, Pine Needles, Pebble Beach, The Old Course at St.Andrews, Scotland, etc., all of which are spectacular. But I'm glad Stonewall is my home course - it's like a comfortable pair of slippers that are a bit loose but never to be discarded.

If my wife would let me, I'd golf there 7 days a week.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/12/2019

We're very glad to have you! Thank you for the 5-star review and we can't wait to see you next!


"Challenging course!"


u8532021's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/18/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course with great views. Challenging roughs, great wide fairways. The greens are well kept and pace of play was great. Definitely get back out here after a few more hours at the range.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/20/2019

Hi, we appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Stonewall Golf Club at Lake Manassas. We hope to see you again soon!


"Outstanding Experience"


Ernie3298767's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/06/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First Rate Northern Virginia Golf Course ... even better when affordable green fees are available. .

Staff was very pleasant & accommodating, including pro shop, starters, beverage service and the club house!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/10/2019

Hi. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back at Stonewall Golf Club!



u000007393695's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/14/2019

Hello. Thank you for your 5-star rating! Please book another round with us soon!


"One of the best in our area"


u000002041615's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were. consistently fast. Rough was thick but playable. If in it, take your 8iron or highest lofted hybrid and slash it out. Fairways were great.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Commented on 05/31/2019

Hello. Thank you for your 5-star rating! Please book another round with us soon at Stonewall Golf Club.


"Stonewall"


artgose's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

Great layout. The course Has recovered from the rain in the past year.

The staff is easy to work with and one of the best in the area.

Course Superintendant is available and asks for questions from the players. Great guy and take his time when questions arise from the golfers.

The grill room has improved in the last year and offers a wide variety of menu items and is prepared correctly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/29/2019

Hi. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back at Stonewall Golf Club!


"Rude Restaurant Staff"


u000007762179's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

We’ve been playing at this golf course at least 20 times, and have always had a positive experience on the course and in the restaurant. We’ve always treated the staff with courtesy and respect, and been generous with our tips. And I am a member of their golf program.

Last night, we returned to the restaurant in the clubhouse after a round of golf to get a quick bite to eat and drink. A guest (not a member) who we had never met began taunting me and my friend for no reason. We repeatedly tried to ignore him, but he kept trying to engage us in an argument. Eventually, things got heated and the unruly patron asked us to “step outside.”

The restaurant manager demanded that my friend and I immediately leave the premises while the perpetrator / instigator was permitted to remain in the restaurant. It’s hard to understand why management would not have deferred to us given our long-standing patronage, but in any event, we won’t be playing there ever again.

For the record, there are a lot of other courses which are cheaper with much better service.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 05/21/2019

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience in our restaurant. We regret the unfortunate and unsettling end to an otherwise enjoyable day of golf. We are sorry that you felt you were unfairly treated, as that is certainly never the intent in any of our guest service delivery settings. As you are a valued guest and have been a regular patron, we hope you’ll consider returning to Stonewall in the future.


"Great course, but,....."


u000005999414's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Terrible pace of play. No enforcement, saw a marshall on and never again.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/13/2019

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass along your feedback to the staff so they can work to make changes. We hope to better your experience on your next visit!



jorge1359472's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on

Course was amazing. Great views and layout. Wish they had a snack bar or something open but other than that, perfect.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/02/2019

Hi. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Stonewall Golf Club! We look forward to seeing you at the course soon for another 5-star experience!


"A must play course"


kitchat's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2019
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

From tee box to green the course is in very good condition. I was pleasantly surprise this early in the season. The rough was a bit thicker and taller than I prefer, but playable. The greens were rolling true, but approach shots were not holding very well. Bunkers need some improvement and probably rate only a fair rating.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/30/2019

Hi. Thank you for taking the time to review us! Your feedback is valuable, and we want to continue serving you excellent service soon. Stonewall Golf Club thanks you!


"Great Layout"


biancs19's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of the best public layouts I’ve played in the DMV. Overall in great shape; greens were a little slow but likely b/c we were playing in April. Great practice facilities and clubhouse. Will definitely play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/22/2019

Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.


"Stonewall thoughts"


dsandidge's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a beautiful course, with scenic lake views. Challenging layout, with many fun shots. As for scoring, the second time played would be easier.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/22/2019

Hello. We appreciate your great feedback regarding the course. Thank you for your 5-star rating! Please book another round with us soon!


"Fun course"


ChinJen's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Stonewall is one of my favorite courses to play. I love the layout. It’s a big course with a great variety of holes. Staff is very professional and friendly. I like the starter system and having the driving range included for warmup. Nice practice areas as well (chipping, putting and bunker areas).


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/22/2019

Hi. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back at Stonewall Golf Club!


"Stonewall"


u000007398028's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful course. No Rinky-dink holes. Many views of Lake Manassas. For such an upscale course,the condition was an issue. The bunkers were not edged and I saw no one working on them. Greens were very difficult due to pok-a-dot Poa patches. All in the foursome had difficulty in judging speed.

I'll try it again in a couple of months.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/19/2019

Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.



kkr21us's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/18/2019

Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.



u132381380's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/16/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/18/2019

Hello, Thank you for your 5-star rating! Please book another round with us soon.


"Worth the trip"


eeguerreiro's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2019
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful facillity and great staff. The course was in decent condition considering Spring hasn't quite arrived and the greens were recently aerated. Stunning views and a fun layout. Not knowing the course, I did find a few hidden/ over the hill fairway bunkers following what I thought were great drives. Although my round took 4 hours, my only complaint was speed of play. A couple of times I was one of five groups on a given hole.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/04/2019

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review us here at Stonewall Golf Club, and for the five stars! We are glad to see that you had a great experience with us on the day of your round. We are happy that you were pleased with the facilities and layout of the course. However, we will take the feedback you provided regarding the pace of play and use it to make the necessary improvements moving forward. We look forward to seeing you again soon!


"Good condition for time of year"


mnastasi67's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2019
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played Stonewall on Saturday, 3/30. The course was in very good condition given the time of year. One knock, the greens were aerated and sanded (rolled just "ok") which is a necessary evil in the spring, however I don't like that it's not disclosed by the course, GolfNow, etc. While I enjoy playing here I'd like to know that as it would likely factor into my course selection. That aside, it was an enjoyable mid-70's day in late March. Hard to find anything to gripe about. Staff was very friendly & accommodating and the pace of play was better than expected for an early season Sat in the 70's.

I don't play here often enough as it's about an hour and a half drive, but it's always worth the trip. Saturday was no exception.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/02/2019

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review us here at Stonewall Golf Club, and for the four stars. We are glad that you had an overall enjoyable experience with us on the day of your round, and that you were pleased with your interactions with out staff and the pace of play. However, we will take your feedback regarding the greens into account in order to make the necessary changes moving forward. We hope to see you again in the future!



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed