Burntisland Golf House Club

4.3165588235 4.3 stars from 5 (37)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 5993 yards
  • Layout

  • Burntisland Golf House Club, Dodhead, Burntisland, Fife, KY3 9LQ
  • +44 (0) 1592 872116, +44 (0) 1592 874093
  • +44 (0) 1592 873247
  • burntislandgolfhouseclub.co.uk

Year built: 1797
Architect(s): James Braid (1922), Willie Park, Jr. (1896)
Type: Semi-Private
Style: Parkland

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: Metal and soft spikes may be worn
Dress code: Smart/Casual on the course and in the clubhouse.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 70 5993 yards N/A N/A
Yellow 70 5513 yards N/A N/A
Ladies 70 5048 yards N/A N/A

Burntisland Golf House Club in Fife, Scotland, is an 18-hole golf course designed by architect Willie Park Jun. It's best described as having a parkland nature, although some holes have a links-type turf to hit off. The course is just under 6,000 yards and has a diversity of terrain.

The fun starts with three par 3s in the first six holes, but birdie opportunities abound. There's only one par 4 over 400 yards, for instance, so good length off the tee and control of mid-irons can lead to that elusive below-par score. The two par 5s are also tamable: No. 2 has a tricky two-tier green that's narrow from front to back, but 12 is much less challenging for the low-handicap golfer.

Throughout the golf course, however, control is key. Out of bounds lies to the left of the first four holes and the 18th, and to the right of nine and 10. You face a pond to the right on five, and you have to maneuver past a quarry on 12. Beyond that, the course throws up its share of trees, gorse and rough all over.

When you finish the course, check out the clubhouse, which offers a bar/lounge/dining area. The bar's open from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m. in the summer.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 37 Reviews
5 stars:
21
4 stars:
11
3 stars:
4
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

34 out of 37 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great views"


t1706876295's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

In excellent condition and great views of the Forth and beyond. A bit hilly and NOT a seaside links but well worth the money.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



t1463546011's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u134860981's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Tidy little course but the layout is just simply Crazy!"


Reidy66's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My 2 sons & I ventured up from Norfolk for a golfing week & decided to try this little course north of the Forth.

One of the oldest courses with all the views, we were really looking forward to this.

I am an 18 & my sons are 22 & 24 hcps & are weekly golfers.

The course layout is just mad (unless your a single figure hcp, starting on the first tee (with no warning of target zone)you have a blind entry into the green, once able to see there are 2 tees & another green tight to this target area!

Anything just blindly slightly overshot (from a visitor) & you have a hospital trip or an insurance claim......

Both my sons were apologising to the locals profusely on this occasion....

The 1st, 2nd & third holes have tight left hand out of bounds almost right on a busy road with no safety fencing or mesh!

My youngest occasionally has a slight pull to his game & on the second was worried that he might have gone through onto the road.

These problems persisted round the course with several more blind entries!

The 17th is just a joke hole isn’t it?

Par 3 blind dip on 118 yds where the flag had blown off & was lying by the side of the green so from the tee we had no idea where the flag was just 2 marker poles!!

I could not believe how many tees & greens were so close together neither wonder other folk have mentioned slow pace of play.....

But the greens and some of the other approaches were just perfect!

Before you think oh moaning English, I am from Edinburgh originally & we venture up every year for a golf tour of Fife & surroundings.

We will not be returning to The Burned Island pitch & Putt.....


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Seaside town Burntisland"


james5284162's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A challenging course some tight fareways

and well kept greens some cracking views of the Forth estuary and beound


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent course"


t1459165807's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing burntisland and would highly recommend it.awesome views. Few tricky holes. Didn't play as well as I can but still really enjoyed my round. Especially liked 10th hole and 17th


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Very nice Course with a friendly, helpful staff."


Albert8041332's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I really enjoyed playing BurntIsland. The course was in good condition and with the "medalist" tees only 6000 yards, this is a course you can score on. If you are in Edinburgh, it's a short drive to play. There are some beautiful views of Edinburgh along the way.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"On this clear day, the views over the Firth of Forth were spectacular!"


1959Tapper's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pretty challenging course for this high handicapper. However, it was a beautiful day with a lovely views of the new Queensferry Crossing Bridge. This was my second time to play here, and the reason I would recommend it to a friend is because people were friendly and helpful, and its a beautiful course. But the two-some in front of me was waiting on the three-some in front of them who was waiting on the group in front of them. And there are just so many golf courses in Fife to play. I’ve played Thornton, Scoonie, Kirkcaldy, Kinghorn, Lochgelly, and pace of play has not been an issue. FYI.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Lovey greens"


u024417490's avatar
Gender:  Male

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Last played the course over autumn period and course was in ok condition for time of year.

Glad we came back in summer as course is in fantastic condition now. Greens are pristine. Course very well maintained in general.

Not the longest of courses but plenty tight tee shots and changes in elevation to keep things interesting.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



t111707785's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Not too long a course but tests you all the way round. Greens were in fantastic condition. Good test of golf. Fantastic views too.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Potential disasters abound"


Megeck's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Great course to play with extremely varied layout. Definately not a boring up and down type course. However lots of holes that could lead to high numbers ic you are at all wayward. Most enjoyable and in excellent condition considering the winter wd have just had. Views hard to beat on any course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Over booked"


u109158680's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We’ve played Burntisland quite a few & it’s normally really enjoyable. This round; however, was spoiled by the course being too busy. We took almost 4 hours, with two of the groups in front of us walking off. The greens were also really furry, with poor quality grass.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/13/2018

Hi there. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your game. There have been a few days we've been very busy so I'm guessing you were along one of those times. I hope you come back at a quieter time and enjoy it once more.


"The course has great views"


KathleenStewart's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course and great staff - if I lived closer I would definitely become a member!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/13/2018

Thanks for your comments. Country memberships available !!!


"Great layout"


t355455057's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played a fourball and found the course to be great. Plentying challenging holes and the greens were in great condition. Only down side was it was still on winter tees.

definetly worth a re visit in the summer


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/13/2018

Thanks for your comments. I hope you get back in the summer.


"Great course hidden gem"


t42020873's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played this course late in March just after the cold snap and the bombardment of snow that brought most of the country to a standstill.

Only I temp green which unfortunately was the wonderful 17th par 3.

The greenstaff had worked endlessly getting the rest of the course back on track which they have done and a great day's golfing was had.

Fully recommend anyone to play this course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/13/2018

Thanks for your comments. Haste ye back.



u440243438's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Second time playing this course and will be back again and again. We'll worth the travel from glasgow. Very friendly pro and a well stocked shop. One of the best courses I have played


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/13/2018

Thanks for your comments. I hope you get back for many more visits.


"Fantastic course in great condition."


u5248798's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/15/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Played this course in middle of January '18 with a friend and absolutely delighted with the condition of the course. 17 out of 18 greens were on. Not only that but the greens were in in great shape. Even the winter hole on the short 17th was in better condition than some parkland regulation greens. Pro was very friendly and pace of play was great. So good I'll be returning next week for a fourball. I genuinely cannot recommend highly enough.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/09/2018

Thanks for the comments and please come again.



menorca1157's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

disappointed that the course was on winter greens however this was due to frost which is outwith the green keeper's control.

the course is still in good condition given the time of year and well worth a visit


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Wee Gem"


u787300473's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

On arriving club pro very helpful other members very friendly the course was in great condition for time of year considering the rain we have had. The greens were in fantastic condition and the four of us can’t wait to play it again. Well done green staff for the excellent condition of course


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Will1704's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/04/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

The course was in excellent condition considering it was October. The fairways were lush and greens were true. It was a good challenge with each hole layout very different and enjoyable to play. We will definitely be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed