Largs Golf Club

4.7463529412 4.7 stars from 5 (36)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6150 yards
  • Layout

  • Irvine Road, Largs, KA30 8EU
  • +44 (0) 1475 673594
  • +44 (0) 1475 673594
  • www.largsgolfclub.co.uk

Year built: 1891
Type: Private
Style: Parkland
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 70 6150 yards N/A N/A
Yellow 68 5754 yards N/A N/A
Red (W) 73 5440 yards N/A N/A

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 36 Reviews
5 stars:
26
4 stars:
9
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

36 out of 36 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Challenging Course With Great Views"


bildon's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/20/2018
First time playing Walked Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Arrived early for our round and the welcome by the clubhouse staff was warm and friendly.

Despite it being mid November the course was in good condition with full greens and preferred lies.

The course is well laid out with a good variety of holes and provides a good challenge for golfers of all standards.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent course, always in fabulous condition"


u395755126's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent course. Always in fabulous condition with great facilities and friendly staff and members.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Lovely Course"


ianrbowie's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a lovely course with number of challenging holes.

Course was in lovely condition and staff in clubhouse friendly and welcoming.

Will definitely be back..


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent course even in the wet"


Cunners26's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

A thoroughly enjoyable course with varied and interesting holes. The ground for a parkland course is firm and it appears the drainage is excellent as despite some recent heavy rain there were no puddles. The greens are true and have always been superb when I’ve played there. £18 for a round represents outstanding value. Largs deserves its title as the “Ayrshire Augusta”.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"largs"


halfagallon's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course was in fantastic condition.greens and fairways.would highly recommend it.only dampner was our 3 ball catching up with a 4 ball who were around 6 holes ahead of us.unbelievably slow.would definitely visit again.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course. Tough but fair."


t150384874's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in immaculate conditin with stunning views across the Firth of Clyde. Ball position is critical on this great layout. Great day out. Catering was good with helpful staff on hand.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"wonderful course"


t1320883084's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing at course. From the pro shop to the restaurant and members all of them very friendly.

I only play once a week owing to hip disability but I would play this course again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent course"


weetarts's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

2nd time playing this course while on holiday & love it. Course is in excellent condition fairways & greens are true & fast staff & members were very friendly would recommend this course to everyone


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Fantastic course"


t472179272's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

1st time playing this course and really enjoyed it cant wait to return every part of the course was spot on couldnt fault anything from start to finish i would highly recommend this course to anyone course condition was great considering the weather for the last couple of months


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



t1266824848's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Another cracker of a course"


u943109671's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Booked tgrough Golf Now for 3 of us, as course was quiet he professional let us tee off as soon as we were ready .

The weather had been very wet overnight but the course hadnt really suffered so far drier than expected.

You start with a par 3 uphill but apart from that the course tends to run across the hill rather than up and down with many holes levelling out.

The course has some very interesting holes with nicely laid out use of the natural features with a number of dog legs bringing the burn into play.

Thoroughly enjoyable course and would definitely play again in the summer.

Catering and bar service was excellent and all very reasonably priced . The mac'n'cheese portion was so filling some had to be left on the plate

Definite 4 Star experience


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"layout"


garyboy4's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the course is not the longest in the world but can be very tricky greens were good considering time of year some very nice holes.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Largs"


t557898682's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fantastic day as 8 off us played from low handicappers to high. Course was in great condition and very challenging. Summer tees and greens. Staff were very helpful and can't wait to play again. Highly recommend.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Winter Golf on the West Coast of Scotland"


t351856862's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The summer in this area never started this year with persistent rain resulting in many courses resembling a big. Largs though is in beautiful condition. We played a two ball here on Monday 6 November, big tee's and greens which were in great condition. I only had to take 1 preferred lie during the whole round as the course drains so well and the condition of the fairways being good. Only issue was the pace of play, we tee'd off at 11:27 and I hoped out on the 18th at 15:42 !!!. Great course though and given that it is not a links course, great condition too for this time of year.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Largs GC"


u667095517's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Friendly welcome in pro shop. Course in great condition. Very flat and would suit players of all abilities.

Unfortunately we did not have time to use clubhouse facilities.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course"


t613338768's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great looking course. First tee is a little scary when everyone just stops and watches. Hit the green so all good. Hardest greens I have ever putted on. Would play again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Carlsberg Golf shame about the women"


u209258472's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played as part of a 3ball and unfortunately we were stuck behind a 4 ball of old women.

After waiting 20 min for them to leave the 1st hole we got started and the pace of the 1st green caught us off guard.

We tried to play slowly however we kept on catching up on the old dears and a one point we were waiting 10 min while the old woman walked to the next tee then dropped off her bag and then went to hit her shot, this became very tedious and I would expect any other 4 ball to let us play through.

The course was immaculate and the greens were hard to read and gauge the pace.

The weather was excellent and I am looking forward to my next round.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Worth a detour"


Davrob9's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2017
First time playing Walked Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played in early July and the course was in superb condition. Whilst not long there are some interesting and tricky holes and as a 12 handicap I found it enjoyable and a reasonable challenge due to quickish greens and good bunkering. Reasonably flat and a decent pace of play, overall I would definitely lpay it again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed