Neshanic Valley Golf Course - Lake/Ridge Course

4.5320000000 4.5 stars from 5 (301)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7065 yards
  • Slope: 128
  • Rating: 73.7
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Simulator: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7065 yards 73.7 128
Gold 72 6665 yards 71.6 125
Blue 72 6210 yards 69.3 121
Blue (W) 72 6210 yards 76.7 136
Silver 72 5580 yards 66.9 115
Silver (W) 72 5580 yards 72.4 126
Green 72 5061 yards 64.5 110
Green (W) 72 5061 yards 69.2 120

Neshanic Valley Golf Course is a 27-hole layout that sprawls across 420 acres of rolling farmland. It is the flagship course of the five-course Somerset County Park Commission system. The design team of Michael Hurdzan and Dana Fry crafted the layout, which is divided into three nines called the Lake, Ridge, and Meadow. The nines can be played in different 18-hole combinations. The Lake/Ridge Course, as the name would imply, starts out with a few water holes. In addition to the lakes on the front nine, environmentally sensitive wetland areas come into play throughout. The fairways and greens are bordered by ample fescue and the putting surfaces are closely guarded by strategically placed bunkers. Neshanic Valley also offers a nine-hole, par-32 Academy Course, which is great for beginners.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 301 Reviews
5 stars:
182
4 stars:
90
3 stars:
23
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

283 out of 299 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers locals a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens thick rough   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

Azeem1957165's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u373720649's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful day. Course is in great shape. Greens are firm and fast.. Scenic holes all around. Challenging from any set of tees, and there are plenty of choices to play from. Nice to see sand in the bunkers! Definitely play this course when you can.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Outstanding value!"


u770541565's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My first time and I'm hooked (poor golf term). I already am coming back Monday! The quality of the facility, the practice area and obviously the shape of the course is amazing. For a public course, better than 80% of the private courses around the state I have played.

Well done staff!!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Good day"


Kong1234's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/02/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was the first time playing the lake course. It was rather nice and the weather held out so we could finish our rounds without being reasoned on. Hitting out of the rough was difficult as it is rather think.

We also stayed to eat after the round and were pleasantly surprised. They had enough on the menu to choose from and the food was alright.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/28/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful New Jersey course"


u635790126's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Certainly the most beautiful public course in NJ and nicer than many private courses that I have played. There is a terrific warm up practice range and a great practice green. The fairways and greens are in excellent shape. You will find very playable conditions almost any time, even after a couple of days of rain. Neshanic never disappoints.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Pristine conditions, great pace, excellent value!"


MARK4524535's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

Key word “VALUE”, now granted I played on a Monday, but 3 of us played in under 4 hours (none of us broke the course record). The conditions were mint. Biggest surprise, as a frequent public facility player, was the bunkers. Sure that means I was in there more than I cared to be, but the sand was soft, consistent, and RAKED! So compliments to the staff and fellow golfers. The greens rolled perfectly (not my stroke), there were virtually no visible ball marks. Fairways, I probably could’ve taken a nap. So you get my point, tremendous facility, oh a grass driving range also. For me, the value is nearly impossible to beat. Will be back!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent Course"


mrvelo's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course many times and have never had a bad time. Always in great shape and the staff is always friendly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



wallyjc's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course well maintained greens a little slow. Traps were in excellent condition.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"EXCELLENT FACILITY"


mtrulby13's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2019
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

This is an excellent facility to play at. Everything from the practice facility, to the clubhouse is top notch. Course conditions were great. Tee boxes, fairways, rough, greens were all A+. Highly recommend playing this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course





4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice golf course"


u9321985's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape I played the ridge (liked it best) and lake

The people in the pro shop were great!

I would recommend this course and I would play it again if I’m in the area


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Vinod5889003's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



MannyRamalho's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I live outside of this county. But I joined Somerset County as a non resident because Somerset County courses are usually in great shape. I love Neshanic Valley. It is a super nice course, but a little pricey for the average person.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



colt451911's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"PGA Championship Saturday"


Brooklyn31's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

Our club played today on the 1st sunny Saturday. It was worth the weight. The rough was up and the fairways pristine. We felt like we had our own championship. No complaints whatsoever regarding the course. Since it's a composite, we played Ridge/Lake. 1 suggestion, water every few holes would be good.. the staff was cool. We even got a lost club back.

The clubhouse was slammed with traffic but it was handled professionally. I ordered the grilled chicken. The marinade came through in the cooking. Best I've had. Kudos


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Neshanic"


scottymacgolf's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2019
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great views and playability on this well maintained muni !!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great GC"


u000004328115's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always looking forward playing this one. 27 holes to choose from.

We almost didn't finish because of impending thunderstorm. I would always recommend this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Azeem1957165's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed