Pines Golf Course at Christmas Mountain Village

3.4176823529 3.4 stars from 5 (131)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 34
  • Length: 2975 yards
  • Slope: 128
  • Rating: 34.8
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper Attire required

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 34 2975 yards 34.8 128
White 35 2689 yards 34.2 125
Red 35 2294 yards 35.2 129
Green 35 1935 yards 33.2 121

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.8 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 131 Reviews
5 stars:
41
4 stars:
55
3 stars:
20
2 stars:
7
1 stars:
8

recommend this course

105 out of 131 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort near local attractions worth the drive   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include elevation changes thick rough water hazards   Great for drinks dinner watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Good Course Layout"


Terry2339402's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very good course layout with several challenging holes and picturesque. Greens were somewhat shaggy and slow. A couple of greens had damage that appeared to be from vandalism. Amenities where good and staff was friendly.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Second time played"


Theo2757's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played this course last month and rated it as fair. I was very impressed with the improvements that have been made. While there are still some tee boxes that need work, you can see the efforts that have been made.

I am glad we gave the course another try. It was a pleasure playing it this time and I will be back.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Christmas Mountain Village"


steady1515's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/01/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is making some major improvements. They are doing drainage work and removing some traps and improving existing ones.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Big time disappointed!!"


Blough2309's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/29/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on

Played this course on June 29th of 2019 and was absolutely the worst experience I’ve had golfing... the course is under massive repair and sprinklers were running almost on every other hole... not only do you have to fight the sprinkler systems out there but then the greens on some of the holes were just absolutely awful condition... no takes to take the sand if you hit in one. No beer cart lady although I was told they had one they lied! 90* outside and not a drop of drinking water In sight. No signs to show you what hole your on what so ever so if it’s your first time being there then good luck... kids from the campground were running across the fairways and or even putting on the greens and then standing to the side of it waiting for us to hit in there direction. I will never go back to this course what so ever! Trappers turn in the dells is where you wanna go!!!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 07/05/2019

Hi, Blough2309. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We understand your frustration with the construction projects underway. Please bear with us as we work diligently to make improvements. We hope you'll give us another try in the future. Thanks for choosing Pines Golf Course at Christmas Mountain Village.


"5 Hours to play 18!!!"


BeachPro's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/25/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Everything was good to great except the pace of play. The foursome in front of us (2 adults) should have displayed some “golf etiquette” and allowed us through, but didn’t. Also, NO one working there to monitor such play doesn’t help the situation! #10 of the golf card etiquette states, “Please play with undue delay.” This may be something the employees from this course needs to remind everyone of when playing, ESPECIALLY the group of four that was in front of us!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/27/2019

Hi, BeachPro. Thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for the delay of play during your round. This is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We are glad to see you rated everything else to be great during your game. We will continue to work towards an excellent experience by using your comment for guidance. Thank you for playing Pines Golf Course at Christmas Mountain Village. We hope to see you again soon.


"Xmas mt. Oak course"


u225549072's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/18/2019
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

1st thing I noticed is there was no bag drop. A lot of reconditioning going on. 15 th hole closed due to sand trap renovation, not mentioned in their promos. Greens were second rate for the price. Better deals in the area.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 06/20/2019

Hi, u225549072. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Pines Golf Course at Christmas Mountain Village. We hope you'll give us another try in the future.


"doing a lot of work on the course"


Einstein41855's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2019
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout but course is in rough shape few bad greens course was very wet from recent rains.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"What Happened???"


u000007836953's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course used to be beautiful. What happened? Tee boxes bare dirt and weeds. Greens with plenty of bare spots and bumps. It would be nice to see it recover.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 05/23/2019

Hi, thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for the poor experience you had during your visit. Your feedback about the course is important to us. We are working to get everything up to par. The current condition is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We will continue to work towards an excellent experience by using your comment for guidance. Thank you for playing Christmas Mountain Golf Course. We hope to see you again soon.



u981622077's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2019
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 05/21/2019

Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We see you rated the course 2-stars and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit. We take customer feedback very serious at our course. Please reach out to our team in the golf shop and tell us what's on your mind. Thank you for playing Christmas Mountain Golf Course.


"Nice course that needs some work to get it up to their normal standards"


Theo2757's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens and tee boxes took a beating over the winter. It was very difficult to putt on the greens. I know they will correct these problems and I will be back to golf this course

again. Always a fun course for intermediates.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/17/2019

Hello Theo, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Christmas Mountain Golf Course. We appreciate your dedication to playing our course but are very sorry to hear that your recent experience with us was poor due to the winter weather conditions. We greatly value your feedback and will continue to make the necessary improvements to your overall experience with us. We hope that you would give us another chance to improve upon the course and hope that you will notice some of these improvements during your next round with us. Thank you for choosing and recommending our course, we hope to see you again soon.


"Poor condition"


kvieth's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

Very disappointed in the condition of the course. Bare spots on the greens, beat up tee boxes, no rakes for the bunkers.

Pace of play was extremely slow on front nine, but did loosen up on the back. Will never play this course again!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 05/06/2019

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review Christmas Mountain Golf course. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We take 1 star reviews very serious and your comments are by no means the standard we strive to achieve, but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.


"Nice course"


u631364249's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had me worried before playing after reading some negative comments from others, and it had been raining for past few days, but course was nice to play and had an enjoyable round with the wife. Girl at pro shop was very friendly and starter was also. Purchased golf on a discount golf website and made the round more enjoyable too.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000003137601's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Christmas Mountain Golf Course on 09/25/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.

"Christmas Mountian"


None's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Not busy, got on 30min early. Not in bad shape, a couple of the greens look like ants are on them


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Disappointed"


mjs22850's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/30/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We have played this course many times. This was the first time this year. The course was not in good shape. It had nothing to do with the recent rains. Tee boxes were ugly and general maintenance was not up to snuff.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Christmas Mountain Golf Course on 09/06/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Christmas Mountain Golf Course, in the Wisconsin Dells area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.

"Needs TLC"


mjafferis's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Better condition than when I played it a month ago but needs some maintenance. Sand traps weedy, greens shaggy. Hardly anyone on it so seemed like we had the course to ourselves. Nice course but please clean it up.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Nice Course"


mulkman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/11/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Took a day off from the waterparks to get some vitamin "G". Course a short drive from the "Dells", teed off shortly before noon. Course was in good condition, greens and fairways in mostly good condition, rough very thick, lots of trees, fairly narrow fairways. Some elevated tees and greens made for a challenging round. Played from the white tees, but still had second shots of 180-200 yards to the green on most par fours. Enjoyed the round.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"What's Happening?"


u2141905554's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/09/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

I must say what a difference a year makes. I played this course for the first time last summer (great experience) and was excited to play this past week.

Sadly, the course has undergone a very unfortunate transition. Hitting off the tee boxes was like hitting out of the rough. I kid you not, the grass was at least 2 inches high on some of the tee boxes. The fairways seemed to be in ok condition but the greens were VERY slow. It would appear they had not been mowed in quite some time. Many of the sand traps are not sand traps any more. It looked like management just let weeds and grass take over. Very strange, no edging on the bunkers either.

As other writers have commented there are quite a few greens that appear to have been damaged from either vandalism or from faulty greens keeping equipment. I'm assuming one of the hoses broke on the green mower and no one noticed until it was too late. Rough, rough shape.

I was actually supposed to play there again with 11 other friends in a few weekends but we have since changed locations. I couldn't in good conscience take my friends to the course in this shape.

I may try in again next Summer and HOPE that it improves. If not, there are way too many other great options in the Dells to mess around with this course. I wonder if joining the Choice brand has anything to do with the depletion of the golf course.

Hope you guys get it taken care of. Until, I'd suggest staying away.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Christmas Mountain Golf Course on 08/21/2018:

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear about your disappointments with the conditions, but we understand your frustration. We hope that you will be able to see some improvement the next time you visit us.


glowinfrog's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


"They let the course go!"


MTN0130's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/03/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

We have played several times in the past and enjoyed the course-good conditions and reasonable price. The day we played the greens were not mowed-a Friday in August in the Dells! The greens were in good shape but EXTREMELY slow, many problematic tee boxes. No course monitoring so very slow. No longer a good value for the money.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Christmas Mountain Golf on 08/07/2018:

Hello, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback regarding the course conditions and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and sceneries at Christmas Mountain Golf, and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.


oreohappy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed