Aston Oaks Golf Club

4.4192117647 4.4 stars from 5 (132)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6908 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 73.4
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt required

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6908 yards 73.4 132
Gold 72 6402 yards 71.1 127
Blue 72 5758 yards 68.1 122
Whit 72 5019 yards 69.1 121

Aston Oaks Golf Club is perched atop rolling hills that overlook the Ohio River Valley. The Jack Nicklaus Design Group created the course, which sits on the former land of President William Henry Harrison. Although his presidency was short lived, traces of his legacy in Ohio can be seen throughout the golf course. Each hole was carefully carved from stands of mature white oak, hickory, and other native hardwoods. The course is tight and demanding with fast greens and plenty of elevation changes. The abundance of trees really characterizes the course. Between the 10th tee and the 11th green, there is a giant Buckeye tree that is the largest in the state. With all of the trees lining the fairways there was hardly a need to add bunkers, but there are some incorporated along the greensides that help to define some holes.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 132 Reviews
5 stars:
72
4 stars:
43
3 stars:
14
2 stars:
2
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

122 out of 129 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers locals wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes water hazards   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

KentKabel's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/22/2018
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was very impressed with the course Unfortunately it was cart path only due to all of the rain we had for 2 days prior to our round. I will definitely play this course again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Aston Oaks"


u000006902154's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/28/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were smooth and fast and course was in overall great condition.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Brian1142810's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2019

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Experience"


u2209475's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First class Course, Staff, Value, Pace of play, etc.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great venue. Good test of skill."


u9628609's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great location. Well maintained. Would definitely play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Amp89103's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Slow pace"


u771519939's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

1130 T time and knew we’d be pushing it to get 18 in by 330 when we had to leave to make it to work but pace of play was terrible. Wehad to leave the course at 3pm only playing 14 holes Would have been close to 51/2 hours to conolete Never saw a ranger and had serval very slow groups in front of us. I love the course, but it’s hard to justify 5 hour plus rounds on a Tuesday midday


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"glfjdg"


flanjl's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2019
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great views of Ohio River on a few holes. Much too hilly to walk. Very good course for price. Go a couple of times each year.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course"


BillBettygolf's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful spring day to play golf. Great value for the money. Spread out through the hills and trees with view of the Ohio river made it very scenic. Only problem was that the greens had been aerated and it was tough putting. Other than that, it was a fun round of golf.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Aston Oaks"


nickh2020's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in poor shape. Tee boxes were awful, fairways were half dead and had large water run offs. Some parts of fairways were all mud/dirt. Yes early season, but other courses that are not as nice are in much better shape. Hope they figure it out soon.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course



Brian1142810's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u6567597's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Timbo Slice Bday"


u675471045's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cold but beautiful out and the course was tough as always but tee boxes seemed placed accordingly. Always great views!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent Course"


u877646803's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

On a lark, decided to drive 90 minutes on my off day to play a course near Cincinnati. Had played area courses in the past, but thought I would give this one a try. I am glad I did. Very challenging but reasonably so. Forces one to think through the round and is not for a grip and rip only golfer. Only minor issue was the in cart GPS could do better at giving distances to hazards like water and sand traps. Other than that, everything was almost perfect. Look goreard to playong it again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A lot of ground under repair"


u000004785848's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was aeration day today and pace of play was slower than normal. Quite a few holes had bad areas and ground under repair. Really like the course and the layout, it was probably in better condition earlier in the season. Had an issue with the group behind us hitting into us on a couple holes, but we couldn't go anywhere as we were waiting for the group in front of us. Will have to go back again next year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


Bearcatjohn's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I always like playing at aston oaks. Very hilly and picturesque golf course. My friend played very slow today so I am glad I was at one of my favorite courses. The course was in better shape than my last round there. Just challenging enough from the gold tees that I had to work to score well.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Joel2261326's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Joel2261326's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great track at good price!"


kjcinci's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways and greens showed some hurt from the dry summer but we agreed to improve bad lies and had a great time. Really in great condition comparing to other local courses!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great person to be match up with an a great player too 300 yard drives an great iron play"


u631104231's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/31/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed the ccompany played myself on golf now .com


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed