Panama Country Club

3.8838294118 3.9 stars from 5 (119)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6626 yards
  • Slope: 125
  • Rating: 71.5
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: No
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: No
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6626 yards 71.5 125
White 72 6289 yards 69.8 122
Gold 72 5589 yards 66.5 114
Red (W) 72 5257 yards 70.3 118

Panama Country Club is situated on the Intracoastal Waterway along the Gulf of Mexico. Donald Ross designed the golf course in 1927. Eight of the holes still reflect his original work. The fairways range in size from narrow to medium width and they are strategically routed through the natural features of the environment, not only preserving them but also allowing them to come into play. The course is mostly flat, making it pleasant to walk, but there are a few subtle contours that provide a challenging element to the layout. A number of holes also feature water hazards. The small greens play fast, indicative of the era in which they were built. Panama Country Club's greens are in consistently good condition year-round thanks to a 2005 resurfacing project.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.8 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 119 Reviews
5 stars:
49
4 stars:
49
3 stars:
12
2 stars:
6
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

105 out of 118 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers seniors walkers   Challenges include water hazards bunkers undulating greens   Great for 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Nice day and a good time"


tbreidert's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff was very friendly, and honest about the condition of the course. Overall it was in good shape; although, they had aerated the fairways recently. It was also very damp due to all the rain over the last month or so. The greens were a tad slow compared to my home course, but in good shape. I will be back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Could be an absolute gem...."


6cutsforth9's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/25/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played here whilst passing through Panama Beach City. I work on a golf course in the UK and feel for the course staff here. They’ve had tons of rain and the fairways are battered .... they’d been deeply aerated and didn’t have a lot of grass. Positives were that the greens were fair and ran true, tee boxes were in good shape and the bunkers good. Pace of play excellent and the price we paid for the golf reflected the course conditions so no complaints. I wish the course superintendent the best of luck with the weather.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Poor Condition"



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Front nine poor condition, fairways in poor condition.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course



david6268170's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course



bpelham's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course."


u766273174's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/16/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course beautiful scenery with challenging greens guarded by pesky bunkers


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Very enjoyable"


madisonvol's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape. The only thing I wish the'd do is soften up the greens. The speed is fine, they just won't hold a shot. You think you've hit one close and it bounces over the green. Fairways are awesome. We will defiantly be back many many times.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


bpelham's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Friendly staff, good course, great fairways, green a bit rough, but overall very nice.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice Pace of Play But"


u8260761's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/12/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

First time at this course. There was a smell all around the course - maybe from

some recent fertilizer? Yamaha golf carts are nice, little attitude from check in staff in pro shop. Don’t think he likes people who use Golf now and prepay to visit the course since he made the comment that it was bad for Golf Courses. Golf Now has brought me to courses that I wouldn’t normally know about or possibly play. My daughter and wife like to tag along for the round with my son and I and this was the first time at any golf course we have been asked to pay an extra fee since they were riding - even though we both paid for an 18 hole round with a cart each. The guy in the shop mentioned they had only so many carts. We were to be paired with another twosome, but after waiting on the tee for 10 min, I called the pro shop to find out that they had already teed off. We did have a nice pace of play, as no other group of players was behind us for the entire round. There was also plenty of carts available when we returned from our round so I do feel like charging me extra wasn’t right... He could look at his log sheet to make a good jugement call in the cart issue. Other than that little issue, we enjoyed our day and enjoyed seeing all the friendly fox squirrels. This will probably keep me from revisiting this course, as due to the distance I had to travel along with the extra charge, no advantage for me to come back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


"Greens"


John8929180's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape except the greens! Completely unresettive.....the bounce with a sand wedge from a 105 yards out would travel 15’! Greens made course unplayable, pity cause everything else was great!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"don't waste your time"


u4656511's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/09/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

found "hot deal" for $46. regular rate at course is $45 including range balls. after i waited 10 mins alone in the pro shop, i paid an extra $5 for balls and guy told me i should've just called and not to bother with golfnow.com. tee'd off alone as twosome i was paired with didn't show. i was behind a 5some of members but, they actually played pretty fast. they seemed as irritated as i was though that the greens had all been aerated and topped with sand. also, there were no flags on 16 of 18 holes and not even any holes at all on at least 12. instead there were foam plugs where holes used to be. the grass on the tee boxes were also taller than the tees themselves. i complained to the guy in the pro shop after the round. he said he already had a few complaints and that he didn't know they were aerating that day. he gave me the head pro's number and assured me he would "work something out with me." i called 3 times. no answer and no vm.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course



Charles7489606's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"A little frustrating"


jcparmer's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape, although the greens did not hold anything. The frustration came from tbe fact that I was told I would joining a group of three. I got to the first tee at the tee time and there was a foursome just going off, another twosome puked up saying they did not have a tee time, they were just squeezing in, and the group I was supposed to play with were nowhere to be found. Ended up playing by myself which meant I was catching up to those in front of me. I played thru, but it was very frustrating experience all around.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Bang for your Buck"


Tsanderson's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course for your money. Opened to the public recently (2018 I believe) and for a $35 hot deal it was worth it. I played on a Thursday morning around 9:30. Does look like it is pretty busy early in the morning with members but I had no issues with pace of play. Played by myself and only waited on one hole before the group ahead let me play through. Course was in good shape and worth what I paid. We stay in Panama City Beach for vacation every year and this course is in Lynn Haven so it was about a 25-30 minute drive from Thomas Drive. Just watch out for the squirrels, they will jump in your cart and want a free ride!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"Great deal"


u826750024's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For military this price is a steal. Greens are a little hard and not to receptive. Fairways were in excellent shape but some of the tee boxes could use some love. It’s true what they say about the squirrels, unafraid and aggressive.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



joking's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/06/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"try it, you'll like it"


Franckhauser's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good value for the money. Not as challenging as others in the area, but not as expensive, either. Course is always in good condition but this time the greens had been sanded and aired out, so they where tricky. Staff is always friendly and pace is usually good. As with all courses in PC, drainage can be an issue after long periods of rain.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"GREAT DAY FOR GOLF WITH RAIN"


randy8320fl's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played golf in the rain and drizzle and it was real good. Slow play was to be expected on this sat. Best course in Panama City for the money. It might lead us to joining the golf Club for a year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"GREAT DAY OF GOLF"


randy8320fl's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

THE WIFE AND I HAD A GREAT TIME AT PANAMA COUNTRY CLUB ON SAT IT WAS A PERFECT DAY OF GOLF. NO SLOW PLAY. NO DELAYS ANYWHERE AND NOBODY PUSHING US. IT WAS JUST PLAY YOUR OWN GAME DAY.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



ll88681ts's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed