Franklin Canyon Golf Course

3.6443058824 3.6 stars from 5 (305)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6550 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 71.8
  • Layout

  • Highway 4, Hercules, California 94572, Contra Costa County
  • (510) 799-6191
  • (510) 799-3807
  • franklincanyongolf.com

Year built: 1970
Architect(s): Robert Muir Graves (1970)
Type: Public
Greens: Bent/Poa Grass
Fairways: Rye/Poa Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Back 72 6550 yards 71.8 132
Middle 72 6145 yards 69.6 127
Middle (W) 72 6145 yards 74.9 132
Red (W) 72 5373 yards 66.7 120

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.4 stars from 5
Value: 3.9 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 305 Reviews
5 stars:
33
4 stars:
147
3 stars:
75
2 stars:
25
1 stars:
25

recommend this course

242 out of 304 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for locals walkers wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks watching the game 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender


5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2019
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had a good time until I lost my cell phone at the course


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent


I recommend this course


"East Bays best public course"


netsah17's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My favorite course to play in the East Bay. Great lay out, with challenges, waters, trees, elevation and escalation changes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Fun and challenging"


Davina5664538's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a blast playing 18 ! Great course and awesome deal! Will definitely play there again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Window got smashed in my car, items were stolen..!!!!!"


Bruheem's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course was ok, and pace was ok but the parking lot is very sketchy...my car and another car had our windows broken and items were stolen out of our vehicle, this should never happen at a golf course facility and should be a safe and respectable place for players....


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/02/2019

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.


"Still a bit sloppy"


u110662324's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

After the wet winter its still a bit sloppy out there, 1-4, 2 of which are par 3, were cart only and the rest of the course was 90 degree rule standard. Greens were all over on speed which made putting a bit difficult to read throughout the day. Pace of play was pretty steady through the day though and the food is always excellent, make sure you call before teeing off at 9 to make sure your food is ready though, as they do not seem to typically have food ready to go for even hot dogs. All in all enjoyable day just would say hold off for another week or two until conditions dry out a bit more.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/12/2019

We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. It is great to see you had an enjoyable time on the course and we hope you join us for another round soon.


"Needs dryer weather"


Donald8436947's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/12/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course will be great once they can Moe, right now the grass is way to long. Spent way to much time looking for my ball. If you get off the fairway at all the you will have a difficult time hitting out of the long grass. As for the greens looks like they recently aerated but didn’t clean the greens very well lots of rolled dirt clods left over, visually makes putting a challenge.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



None's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/22/2019

Hello, and thank you for reviewing our course, Franklin Canyon Golf Course. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the course did not meet your expectations on the day of your round. We will make sure to pass this along to our staff. We hope to see you again in the future.



jakolson's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/07/2019
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course



golfowes4162's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/21/2019
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/23/2019

Hello, and thank you for the 4-star review! We are glad to see you had an enjoyable round and friendly experience with us. Thank you for playing our course here at Franklin Canyon, and we hope to see you again soon.


"Great challenge"


u2020653's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on

It was my first time playing this course and the location of the layout being in a canyon make this golf course challenging. I will be back for sure!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"ehhhh"


Chris92597's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

Be aware they charge extra fees upon your arrival regardless if you paid in full, as stated online.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course



u218495507's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/22/2019

Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon!


"Franklin Good Will It Last?"


bolt65's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
California Advisor
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

Good greens and in grass most places, good value afternoons.

Well done fries a must! Front is faster and firmer than back nine; both nines are consistent these days. The aeration was done about four weeks ago so it’s game on.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/16/2019

We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. It is great to see you had an enjoyable time on the course and we hope you join us for another round soon.


"Many varied challenges"


u894359545's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/28/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

OK ... first ... what the heck is with the $1 fee to check in ?!???

I've already paid for the round and the card, so WTH?

Aside, it's a course that's got a number of differently-challenging holes. Some requiring target practice to the green. Some blind hills and curves. Some obstacles (like big trees or mid-fairway bunkers). Some holes that are in hill-created wind channels, that you might not suspect from ground-level. I'd definitely play again, even though the initial annoyance of being asked for more money upon check-in is quite distasteful, and the fairways seem to need a great deal of re-seeding in places.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Mark4062283's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Teed off at 1:50 last Friday we were stuck behind 3 groups of six players some reunion tournament. Got 15 holes in before it got dark. Really was hoping to play 18. The pro shop was fully aware what was happening but did nothing.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Franklin Canyon Management on 10/24/2018:

We're sorry to hear about your experience with the pace of play. Next time, please feel free to reach out to the pro shop during your round to report any pace of play issues.

"Dry times"


cdjones4761's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The layout makes this course interesting and fun. Over all the course could use some work. Have been told by local players that have trouble securing water. So lots of dry and bare spots . Still fun and challenging course. Pace was good at just under 4 hrs.price makes playing here worth while.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Franklin Canyon Management on 10/17/2018:

We're happy to hear you found a good value playing Franklin Canyon. See you soon!

"Another Course On the Brink"


Evans5904484's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/03/2018
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course used to be well maintained, highly regarded for its fast greens, and lots of play. Not so any more. Pretty ragged with no sand in the bunkers, spotty and rough greens. In all fairness, they are hurting for water so they do the best they can. I hear this course is going to 9 holes in a couple of years, which will be the end of Franklin Canyon.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Franklin Canyon Management on 10/17/2018:

Thank you for playing Franklin Canyon! Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

"This course is very dry"


mp3457's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course had a lot of dry patches, we were hitting off dirt a couple of times. The conditions of the course did not merit the green fees.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Franklin Canyon Management on 10/17/2018:

We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Your feedback on course conditions is greatly appreciated.


veterduet's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/25/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Franklin Canyon Management on 10/17/2018:

Thank you for the 4-star review and recommendation!

"In sad condition"


u000001284668's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I’ve played this course often. But generally not in summer months. Their source of water is practically non existent. Fairways do not appear to be watered under 150 yards out. Areas that are watered were in poor condition. Trying to find a patch of weed to place your ball on was difficult. Wait till season brings some rain before playing.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Franklin Canyon Management on 10/17/2018:

Thank you for playing Franklin Canyon and sharing your feedback on course conditions. We hope to see you in a few months!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed