The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes

4.1345941176 4.1 stars from 5 (627)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7300 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 75.6
  • Layout

  • 2500 Wiregrass Way, Bluffton, South Carolina 29927-4153
  • (866) 396-3230, (843) 208-5353
  • (843) 208-5354
  • www.hiltonheadlakes.com

Year built: 2007
Architect(s): Tommy Fazio
Type: Public
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tradition 72 7300 yards 75.6 133
Blue 72 6650 yards 72.3 128
White 72 6200 yards 70.4 122
Green 72 5690 yards 67.9 116
Red (W) 72 4955 yards 69.1 120

The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes is a Tom Fazio design that is challenging, but with five sets of tees it is versatile enough for players of all skill levels. Fazio deftly utilized the native wetlands and numerous lakes that are interspersed across the landscape, incorporating them along the expansive fairways and angled greens. The tricky greens have been carefully molded and contoured to offer a variety of pin placements. In addition to the water hazards, there are also numerous strategically placed bunkers lurking throughout. The golf course will test your shot-making skills as well as your creativity. To complement the golf course, Hilton Head Lakes offers an equally impressive 36-acre, double-ended practice facility with target greens, bunkers, multiple practice greens, and even a par-3 short course.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 627 Reviews
5 stars:
173
4 stars:
313
3 stars:
95
2 stars:
34
1 stars:
12

recommend this course

557 out of 623 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for locals seniors beginners   Challenges include bunkers water hazards plays long   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u1715900's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u235847792's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/12/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We have been playing this course for years and it is in as good a condition now as we have seen it.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u298043118's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/01/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000007592504's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



JImmy1065710's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Wife fairways"


u459181766's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/25/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Even if you mishit a shot you can recover with a good next shot. Greens were true and speed acceptable. Price very reasonable, will definitely play next time in the area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful"


hooterstour03's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

New course since they have got a new clubhouse! Seems they have higher standards now. Everything looked amazing except one small flaw. Bunkers was horrible. I know it has rained but course I have worked at didn’t matter. Every morning they got turned up and raked. Even on sundays. Staff in clubhouse dining area greeted me very nicely. The two kids behind the desk was more worried about what was on their phones and their conversation than answering my questions about the course. I have played here a lot and this is about the best I have ever seen this course. Greens still slow and little bumpy in places. But they had grass all around and it was green and not crunchy. Please play. And a added bonus they had a beer girl. Seen her only on the back but it was 3x’s.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



setabjl's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



JImmy1065710's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great value, good conditions considering"


None's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2019
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Following a number of days with a lot of rain, this course played fairly well. Some bunkers were a little wet, but the fairways were in excellent condition. Greens were rolling at about a 10 and were fairly consistent. Front nine was 90 degree rule and the back was cart path only. We played in just 4 hours.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great conditions and wide open"


u7168527's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lots of room to shank the ball and still not worry about houses. Usually when golfing in the Hilton Head area the course is dried up and half sand, but this one was just as green as the pictures. Also saw 4 baby alligators far away which was really cool.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A lot better shape than three years ago"


u053702085's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course was in real good shape. Greens were a little inconsistent, some slow some fast. Marshal was real serious. Don’t break ANY rules. Fun course though. Also wide open. Great beginner course


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/30/2019

Hi there! We want to hear more about your experience with us! Please call us at (866) 396-3230. We look forward to seeing you again soon!


"Big difference from last played"


ski24448's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2019
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good shape. Had playd it 3 yrs ago. Greens and fairways were much better and good value. Greens were being fertilized but good speed and true. Will put this on our list for next year.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


bonniedreyer's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great condition and the people are so friendly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Wide open beautiful course"


PhilDurka's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on

Great course, friendly staff, no liquor licence when we played as the clubhouse is brand new.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"A Tale of Two Cities"


Gene9831929's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in great shape...kudos to the grouds super and crew!

Beautiful new clubhose and very nice looking restaurant...BUT seems to be a problem with getting someone in to run the restaurant with the ability to sell beer...I don’t mind because I don’t drink beer when playing golf but the threesome from New Jersey that I played with was not happy at all about no brewski!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


"Course Appraisal"


u818668489's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As a 16 handicap golfer, I felt Hilton Head Lakes was a very fair course. The fairways and greens are large and help to keep play moving. There are obstacles, water, marsh, sand, etc., but fairly placed. I totally enjoyed the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Wide open fairways"


Michael6694109's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great deal greens almost fully recovered and rolling nice

Great views plenty of wild life


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Gene9831929's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good golf"


Michael6694109's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens recovering from verti cut, however, rolling well

Wide open fairways and enough water

A pleasure to play

Great staff

18 holes 3 hours 40 min. nice pace


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Very pleased"


fixit4ya2day's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The golf course is in excellent condition. The layout of the course is outstanding . Staff is very friendly, pace of play was great. We will definitely be coming back to play this course next time we are in Hilton head .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed