Royal Niagara Golf Club - Old Canal Course

3.5310352941 3.5 stars from 5 (381)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 36
  • Length: 3563 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fee
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire must be worn on the golf course, driving range, and practice areas at all times (no tee shirts, tank tops, jeans, cut-offs, etc.).

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 36 3563 yards N/A N/A
Blue 36 3307 yards N/A N/A
White 36 3099 yards N/A N/A
Red 36 2739 yards N/A N/A
Green 36 2240 yards N/A N/A

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.3 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 381 Reviews
5 stars:
84
4 stars:
178
3 stars:
68
2 stars:
33
1 stars:
18

recommend this course

292 out of 378 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive near local attractions convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers locals playing multiple courses   Challenges include bunkers forced carries undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u000005132150's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course



u000004801670's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2019
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/18/2019

Thanks



dalton88's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/09/2019
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/18/2019

Thank you!!




2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/07/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the cashless system is not ideal. We got pulled from the back nine and told to restart on another nine because they booked a shotgun tourny and took to many tee times. restarting was fine but everyone was so it was a 6.5 hour round


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 07/18/2019

Wow we need to do better than this! Thanks for the feedback



uGWVV3116GW's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/04/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/18/2019

Thanks


"BEAUTIFUL DAY FOR"


u000004022851's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2019
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is top-notch.. Very challenging at times. Pace of play was excellent-even though they had men's league & a group of 8. Lost a lot of balls because rough was longer than normal...The only problem...Where are the washrooms???


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/18/2019

Thanks, we typically have port o pot on the golf course. Will send to the superintendent


"Cancelled"


twotallfour's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My round was cancelled by the golf course..was told it was double booked ..was only given 12 hours notice and no refund on my golf now fees..also your reward program is no good to me..i do not use hot deals.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 07/18/2019

The hot deals have nothing to do with us.


"Good but difficult course"


steveporter's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tough course with high slope ratings. Greens are all raised and well protected by traps so there is a premium on hitting a long drive if you want a realistic shot at par.

Fairways and tees were in good condition and most holes drain well. The staff and facilities are all very good and well organized.

Negatives would be the rough was allowed to grow too long for the average golfer and the cart paths are I need of repair in many places.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/18/2019

We agree, thanks for the feedback!




3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/18/2019

Thanks



u000006333633's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2019
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/18/2019

Thanks




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Sour People"


Tylerlaheygolf's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

You know i love reading the reviews on here about this golf course. All of these fake accounts bashing royal niagara and their conditions this year. If you have seen what the spring has been like and the excessive amount of rain they have recieved you would, like a normal human being, understand how difficult it has been to manage the conditions with all of this rain. pretty sure they were the only golf course allowing power carts. so you golf lovers can go PLAY GOLF. If you want prime conditions move to florida. Budgets arent easy to work with sometimes, but you dont seem to think about that do you? No you think they just dont care. Youre insane. If they didnt care, their would be no golf course. They try, and when the weather cooperates, its an excellent golf course. You pay no more than $62 prime time on this high traffic PUBLIC golf course, which sees over 200 rounds on the weekend. They accomodate all golfers because in todays world, businesses should accomodate everyone to make money. In these comments you keep mentioning how you play here many times. if its so bad why do you KEEP COMING BACK. its people like you who make me sick. you feel the need to come on these platforms and type negative feed back for other people who dont care what you have to say. Take your cheap, unknowledgable mind and go play golf somewhere else.


Course Layout: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/18/2019

We still have faith in humanity! Thanks Tyler for the comment.


"Slow!"


u015339426's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/06/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Back nine was excruciating slow. Ended up dropping 2 holes We likely wouldn’t have finished anyway. Rough was cut pretty long as well.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 07/18/2019

Will send to the proshop to make sure our marshals get out there. Thanks


"Disappointed"


u000004923446's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It appears that they do not care about taking care of their course


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 07/18/2019

We do, Ivaylo our greens keeper works extremely hard along with all his staff. We have purchased new bunker sand to refill the bunkers and we have increased our budget for labour on the greens crew.


"Disappointed"


u000004923446's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I’ve played this course for many years now and I can tell you how disappointed I was with the condition of the golf course. It’s almost as if they stopped caring


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Disappointed"


u000004923446's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I may never play here again. The course was in horrible shape. No care at all put into the course. I’ve played here many times in the past and I’ve never seen the course in this shape. Too many courses in the Niagara area that actually put an effort into caring for their course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course



JoshMcKernan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/28/2019

Thanks!



paulrichard's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Twice a year
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/28/2019

Thanks!



toad420's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/23/2019

Thank you!


"Weather was a factor"


u000004022851's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2019
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The wind and cold was certainly a factor in the game. The course was in good shape after such rain..Staff was excellent...


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/23/2019

Thanks, wind coming off the Escarpment is our nemesis!



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed