The Club At Viniterra

4.3326882353 4.3 stars from 5 (454)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7496 yards
  • Slope: 142
  • Rating: 75.2
  • Layout

  • 8647 Angel’s Share Dr, New Kent, Virginia 23124, New Kent County
  • (804) 932-3888
  • www.viniterragolf.com
Write Review

Year built: 2009
Architect(s): Rees Jones (2009), Greg Muirhead (2009)
Type: Semi-Private
Golf Season: Year round. High Season: April 1st – October 31st

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Singles allowed: Yes
Dress code: Proper golf attire. No denim allowed
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7496 yards 75.2 142
Blue 72 7087 yards 73.1 137
Green 72 6698 yards 69.8 129
Green (W) 72 6698 yards 76.2 139
White 72 6117 yards 71.4 133
Gold 72 5504 yards 68.7 127
Gold (W) 72 5504 yards 74.9 136
Burgundy (W) 72 5122 yards 71.1 128
Pink (W) 72 4625 yards 67.9 121

Situated between Richmond and Williamsburg, the Club at Viniterra sprawls across abundantly wooded hills. There is no shortage of elevation changes on this Rees Jones and Greg Muirhead-designed golf course. There is a difference of as much as 70 feet from the tee to the green on most of the holes. When combined with the mature trees, the result is a tough layout that demands accuracy. Thankfully though, there are not many water hazards to contend with but there is strategically placed bunkering throughout. The golf course also provides a scenic round with working vineyards running alongside the lush fairways. In addition to being challenging, the Club at Viniterra prides itself on their environmentally sensitive practices. The golf course saves as much as 80 percent of the water used on traditional courses thanks to the use of a drought-resistant grass hybrid.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 454 Reviews
5 stars:
233
4 stars:
176
3 stars:
34
2 stars:
5
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

427 out of 452 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city near the airport   Great for advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views locals   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes forced carries  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Fun but challenging"


u000007447709's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/08/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For February, the course was in excellent condition. The greens were in fabulous condition. The course is fair and each hole seems to be its own space. I have played here a few times and I love the layout.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Golf"


u000007303223's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/09/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Awesome course only negative feedback a few of the tee boxes were in bad shape parking area looks a little small if course is crowded


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Challenge"


thejumpgroup's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/26/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a blast playing from the Green Tee Decks. Plays at 6700 yards but an awesome challenge. Course management is key to this track...leave your ego in the bag and enjoy every shot. The greens were in great fair and the Fairways wide...a must play course and with 7ntee decks to choose from, looking forward to playing again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000005224744's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/25/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Totally decent"


None's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/18/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on

Overall, good conditions, good layout and good value. Tees are set either very long or very short. Greens are firm but hold well struck shots with good speed. Not a lot of water or hazards but the greens were all raised and challenging.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Best Weather of the year for golf"


davegolf189's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in very good shape for our team building best ball outing. The fairways were in good shape although it was a little wet in areas and the 90 degree and cart path only was in affect for some of the holes. The bunkers were wet and had to use relief on some due to standing water and some mud in the centers of them. All in all it was a great day to play and we had a blast. This was our third time out here and it gets better every time we play. New Club house is open and brand new. The carts seem a little under powered for the terrain of the coarse but they made it through.

-Dave


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"A challenging, fun test"


AlexanderA's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Despite being bombarded with ridiculous amounts of rain recently, the course is in very good shape everywhere except the bunkers.

Viniterra is a fun track to play and a good test for any skill level if you choose the correct tee box. Each hole is unique and visually stunning. The fairways are wide (with the exception of number 4, which needs to be redesigned, imo), and the greens are large.

The staff are friendly and the pace of play was excellent. I look forward to going back soon


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



goodman3023's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were in decent condition but fairways were in need of help .

Bunkers have nice sand but also has matting exposed in areas.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course



terryd0527's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Viniterra"


u000002627500's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2019
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course conditions were erratic. The greens were not consistent. They were recently sanded and i was not told. No amenities


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



u438960962's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Is what it is"


BWat31's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Super slow round, almost 5 hours long on a Thursday morning. No ranger out there to keep track of things, kinda disappointing, spent more time waiting then playing


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Awesome"


FritoLayx2's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2019
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you looking for a track that will take your breath away ... it’s the Golf Club at Vinitera! The huge separation from the green to the next hole resulted in almost every hole bering played in privacy! The ride on the golf cart between holes thru the various ravines was also stunning!

Although not in pristine condition (since it’s early spring) with rain & fertilizer being required, it was nevertheless very playable.

In two weeks the official newly constructed club house will open & the off course amenities will improve dramatically.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Great 8"


mIMSthTCLHCcIYjPnt7v's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2019
First time playing Used cart

Reviewed on

Excellent service from pro shop through the course amenities.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Viniterra has a really nice collection of holes"


MikeBaileyGA's avatar
Top 10 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The Club at Viniterra is a perfect example of why you should "make sure you play the right tees." If you’re a plus handicap and a long hitter, then go ahead and play the back tees. At 7,500 yards, it's all the golf course you want and then some. But then again, how much fun would that be for anyone? So for most players, unless you're in some kind of high-level event against flat-bellies, avoiding the back tees is probably a good idea. I would suspect it's a lot of work from there, even for the best players.

Fortunately, there are six sets of tees at Viniterra, so there really is a golf course for everyone. When you're playing the white tees you pass up three other sets before you get to yours. But you quickly get used to that, even if you're a single digit player, and realize that this Rees Jones gem is plenty challenging, scenic and interesting, even from 6,100 yards with a rating of 69.8 and slope of 129.

Many of the tees at Viniterra are elevated, and the fairways are very generous. The key to scoring is to avoid the fairway bunkers (there are plenty of them) and find the large greens, which have plenty of undulation. That's easier said than done, of course, since the greens are well protected as well by large bunkers, but it's a good goal nonetheless.

As for the holes, there's great variety, and they’re memorable. There are no homes that come into play either. The only drawback to the course is the distance between holes, which certainly prolongs the round. There is more than a half-mile of bridges between holes for cart paths.

Viniterra is also getting a new clubhouse, which should improve the overall experience. When I played the course, the clubhouse was almost completed and scheduled to open in a couple of weeks.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"Well worth it"


rboyne's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2019
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

You need to hit all your clubs and think your way around the course. Greens were quick and had to be in the right spot. Would play this one again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Challenging"


u7097405's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout.... greens were rolling great , green fairways, bunkers were ok but playable...


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u438960962's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Unique Course in a Good Way"


KenQQ's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall course was in great shape for end of April. Fairways and greens are wonderful. The "unique" part for me was all the hills. Some holes it does not enter into play, others it is significant. Lots of woods between holes, that do not enter into play. Little water hazard concerns, some "gulch" hazards, MANY traps to stay away from. I agree with previous review, do not think about walking. Clubhouse hopefully is in transition from temporary to new wonderful building. Friendly staff and good sandwiches at turn. Enjoy!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Awesome Course"


Jcorker's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great Course, staff seemed a little rusty, I was with a threesome and we tee’d off, next thing you know they are bringing a stranger to join us! We had no clue a 4th person was being added. Overall decent experience.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



harrbria's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed