The Branston Golf & Country Club - Championship Course

2.6530571429 2.7 stars from 5 (8)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6697 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - GBP 30
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper attire is required.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 72 6697 yards N/A N/A
Yellow 72 6423 yards N/A N/A
Red (W) 72 6185 yards N/A N/A

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 2.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 5.0 stars from 5
Value: 2.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 1.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 8 Reviews
5 stars:
3
4 stars:
3
3 stars:
1
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

7 out of 8 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great place. Bad experience"


t770650811's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Having booked our tee time at 10.08, on arrival we were told we couldn’t actually tee off until 10.50 as the seniors had blocked booked for a comp. No problem we went and had some breakfast in the fantastic restaurant overlooking the 18th. The round took us over 5 hours waiting on every tee. Also to make us really welcome we were told by 3 different seniors we shouldn’t even be on there course and tee off times should not let us book when they are there. Awesome ! The course, facilities and staff were great but would suggest ring beforehand to check the grumpy seniors aren’t playing.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great day out"


t1252915240's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in fantastic condition. Greens true and challenging.

Not played here for couple of years. Will return soon.


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Awesome!"


Psychodad666's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Outstanding course and exceptional facilities

The course has plenty of water and even the shorter holes are extremely difficult and you have to pick / manage your way round the course, hit the wrong side of a fairway and you may be blocked out - over 600 yd Par 5 to boot!.

The Greens were outstanding, soft, quick and true with very subtle undulations

First course I've played that had sprinkler heads in the middle of the tees which are huge

Brilliant 18th Hole!!

Ill be back!


I recommend this course


"10/10"


u2066419's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course in excellent condition. A challenge for all handicaps. Planning on returning in a few weeks time even though it's a 110 mile round trip. That should confirm how impressed with the course we were


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Map on scorecard would be helpful"


u069970662's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good overall course, played here for the first time. We found that finding the next hole on some of the holes proved difficult. Didn't get informed of the 3rd being closed only found out when we walked in to the first tee to see a small sign.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Leafy Branston"


u602179258's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/08/2016
First time playing Walked Played 18 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very enjoyable round, bitterly cold, mixture of winter tees and mats, green excellent. Loads of leaves around which makes finding balls off the fairway really difficult, greenskeepers trying their best to get them cleared up, great club house and amenities, highly recommended


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Familiar friend"


tilly0212's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/29/2016
Previously played Walked Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Having been members of this club previously we enjoyed the changes made by thinning woodland areas etc. However the grass on the fairways was rather long and the greens had recently been hollow tined ( without notification) making putting impossible. This was disappointing especially as we have played other courses in much better condition.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice course slow play"


acko17's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/28/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Average weather

Reviewed on

Nice course lots of water and ditches so accuracy and length is the key.

Tee times too close, members say its always that way delays on every hole slow play by below average golfers not helping. Five hours to get round not really acceptable pity really lovely course venue


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed