The Warwickshire Golf & Country Club - Earls Course

3.6666705882 3.7 stars from 5 (12)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7133 yards
  • Layout

  • Leek Wootton, Warwick, Warwickshire, CV35 7QT, United Kingdom
  • +44 (0) 1926 622570
  • +44 (0) 1926 408409
  • www.thewarwickshire.com
Write Review

Year built: 1994
Architect(s): Karl Litten (1994)
Type: Semi-Private

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 7133 yards N/A N/A

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.8 stars from 5
Value: 3.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 12 Reviews
5 stars:
3
4 stars:
6
3 stars:
1
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

9 out of 12 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Warwickshire Earls Course"


t2121551005's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/22/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in amazing condition, the facilities were great. Bar staff wasnt particularly attentive and didn’t listen to what we actually ordered.

The golf was great until we had to sit behind a four ball then played very slowly and didn’t allow us through (2 ball) at any point despite being very close on a number of occasions on multiple holes on the back 9!

It meant we had to wait on every tee, on every approach shot and ruined the flow of play...

That being said it was a Saturday, just a shame it slowed us down as it affected the golf we were playing...


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Good course but poor service"


u464055680's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Turned back from the first tee for not having winter wheels on our trolleys. The pro shop failed to say anything when we checked in or when we called the day previous to check on the course conditions.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"The Earls"


t831826947's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in great condition for this time of year. Greens in very good order, if only I could putt!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/24/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"The Warwickshire"


chopalot's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/18/2018
Previously played Walked Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For the time of year can't complain.....proper golf course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Cancelled with poor customer service"


u464055680's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course closed due to frost, which is fair enough but no advance warning either phone, email or website update. No refund either!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Slow Play"


Dickysadz's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

played 14 holes in 5 and half hours and had to walk off, and was then refused to be reimbursed .


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"The Warwickshire - The Earls Course"


Chrisround1977's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2016
First time playing Walked Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

First time I've played this course and got to say I will definitely be coming back in the warmer months. The course had a great layout and was in really good condition for Novemeber. The only drawback was the greens had just been spiked for Winter apart from that the course was excellent. Highly recommend....


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Really good value and testing golf"



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/23/2016
Previously played Walked Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

Myself(15) and a friend(24hcap) had a really good time. Round of golf in 4 hours on a top course. Greens true, bit slow but in great condition for time of year. Fairways in good Nick and bunkers, I found quite a few, plenty of sand and well raked.

Had breakfast at 8.15 prior to round and this was a reasonable cost and good quality, as my mates food and drink after the round.

Lots of different challenging holes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Turtle pace Members"


Nam064's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/21/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played The Earls early on a Friday afternoon and the course was in good condition considering some recent heavy rain. Greens were slow as they had been dressed and narrow tined but as good as you can expect this time of year.

The Earls isn't for the faint hearted especially when it's heavy going, it's long even for decent hitters like my playing partner and I. But a great test and excellent value.

My only gripe is the pace of play. If you are hoping to scoot around relatively quickly forget it. I have never had what I would consider a quick round of golf here unless first off at dawn. Yesterday's issue was following a four ball from the first tee (we were two ball, both single digit handicap) and not once did they appear to consider letting us play through. Admittedly there were four in front of them but nothing in front of that. It's this inconsiderate behaviour that winds me up, growing up playing golf I was always told to allow quicker groups through especially early in the round. We were out there 90mins longer than we would have been had they let us through after a couple of holes.

Having recently returned from a golfing trip to Majorca, I can tell you busy courses are no excuse for slow play, especially with effective marshalling. The Warwickshire marshall's seem to swan about and do nothing to help the pace of play. The only thing I've ever seen them do is ask a playing partner to tuck his shirt in....ok but how about you do something about the 5hr+ rounds of golf.

To summarise, great course(and the Kings is also a good test, if not as long) but allow 5hrs+ because you will need it!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Earls Course"


Hoggy83's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/08/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Fantastic parkland course over rolling Warwickshire hills....quite simply the best course I have ever played, above the Belfry and Forest of Arden.

Pace of play lets it down, it took 4.45 for a 3 ball.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Earls, Warwickshire"


bcullinan1's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/08/2016
Previously played Walked Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

Course condition extremely poor. Tees and fairways OK but the greens were incredibly sandy and impossible to put on. Worst greens I've ever played on.

They also booked our 2 ball onto another 2 ball booking and expected us to play together. Not too pleased to have to spend 5 hours with 2 strangers.

To add to that, very slow play.

Walked off after 14 holes very unhappy.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed