West at Oakmont Golf Club

3.8863705882 3.9 stars from 5 (223)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6379 yards
  • Slope: 126
  • Rating: 70.4
  • Layout

  • 7025 Oakmont Dr, Santa Rosa, California 95409
  • (707) 539-0415
  • (707) 539-0453
  • www.oakmontgc.com

Year built: 1964
Architect(s): Ted Robinson, Sr. (1964)
Type: Semi-Private
Greens: Rye Grass
Fairways: Rye Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - $16
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared Shirt, No Cutoffs, Denim OK
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6379 yards 70.4 126
White 72 6059 yards 69.2 122
White (W) 72 6059 yards 74.3 129
Yellow 72 5573 yards 67.1 118
Yellow (W) 72 5573 yards 71.7 124
Forward 72 3719 yards N/A N/A

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.7 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 223 Reviews
5 stars:
45
4 stars:
110
3 stars:
41
2 stars:
13
1 stars:
14

recommend this course

188 out of 220 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals seniors walkers   Challenges include water hazards bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks dinner brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great layout"


impart's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/18/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course has all the challenge that you need. Every hole has character and enjoyment. Nice pace of play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Challenging without being hard"


schreibee's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Oakmont WEST has a couple pretty difficult holes, several more that require accuracy off the tee with some local knowledge where to put it, and in all honesty, several that are just plain ol nothing special holes.

Most of the Par 5s call for less than Driver off the tee, as they have water hazards crossing the fairway and/or a dogleg. That isn't everyone's cup of tea, but the 2nd shots are demanding.

The greens are no picnic here, you have to stay below the hole. I like the challenge to accuracy off the tee at Oakmont WEST (I stress West because there's an East course that's an executive track I booked accidentally- Golf Now fixed it for me. Thanks Golf Now!)

This course does wind through a neighborhood, so don't expect much in the way of scenery here, although the Mayacamas are just a bit to the east so there's SOMETHING to look at besides people's homes!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/21/2019

Hi schreibee. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome detailed feedback such as yours for improvement. Thank you for playing West at Oakmont Golf Club.


"Good Value for the money"


arevir71's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2019
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was my first time to play the course and had some problems as to where to place the ball in the fairways.. The greens was not so good in condition as the ball dribbled in some of the greens during putting.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/17/2019

Hi arevir71. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing West at Oakmont Golf Club.


"This course is in excellent shape."


johnh1530's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/05/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I always enjoy playing Oakmont West. It's always a challenge for me but fun.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/11/2019

John, thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you again at the course very soon for another 5-star experience. Thanks for choosing West at Oakmont Golf Club.




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/29/2019

Thank you for your 4-star rating! Please book another round with us soon.


"Course conditions"


tailhk's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the greens are exceptionally hard. They need to be punched to get some water or they will be lost in the summer


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 05/15/2019:

Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club. Your feedback is much appreciated. Come back soon!

"Oakmont has seen better days !!!!"


1WINDSTAR's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2019
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have been playing here for 20 years and it is getting worse and worse each year. I understand it is up for sale !!! The greens are in poor shape considering it is spring time. There are no yardage markers except for some 150 yard pole markers. No distance on the sprinkler heads. Those are long gone. The markers in the middle of the fairways are there but so old that you cannot read them. I only play here because it is a short drive otherwise I would not waste my time.. Pace of play can be very slow but other times you can play 18 in 3 1/2 hours. There are so many other better courses I would leave this one for last !!!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 05/15/2019:

Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club. We're sorry to hear you feel this way but your feedback is much appreciated. Our maintenance crew is working very hard to provide the best course conditions possible and we hope you'll consider giving us another try in the near future.


uSJGO7328SJ's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 05/15/2019:

Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club. We're sorry you decided not to play the last hole of your round. We hope you'll consider giving us another try in the near future.

"Callenging"


Thomasgegner's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great design makes this course play more difficult than you might think. Small greens with lots of slope and false fronts strategicly placed traps. Greens are good right now.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 05/21/2019:

Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club, Thomas! Your kind words regarding our course layout and the condition of the greens are much appreciated. Come back for another round soon!

"Needs improvement"


u341374771's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2019
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I usually like playing this course; however, this round was an exception. The fairways and greens are in good condition, but the bunkers and rough were in very poor condition. The sand in the bunkers did not exist. Lots of weeds and very hard pan sand. Couldn't get under the ball. The rough was thicker than usual, probably due to the very wet winter we just got over. I'm hoping the maintenance of the course will improve over the next few weeks and the next time I play here I can post a more favorable review.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 04/30/2019:

Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club again! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding the course conditions. Our maintenance crew is working very hard and we appreciate you taking notice of the fairways and greens being in good condition. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

"Fun track but greens are rough"


Marty6360738's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2019
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really enjoyed the round. Took me about 4 holes to realize the grin outdoors not hold many shots and they are in pretty tough shape. Bouncing instead of rolling putts was the norm. They admit it I still winter conditions and there virtually no sand in the bunkers...mostly weeds. But I didn’t hit into any of them.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 04/24/2019:

Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club, Marty! We're glad to hear you really enjoyed your round. Our maintenance crew is working very hard on a daily basis to get the course in the best shape possible. We hope you come back again soon!

"Course is recovering"


MartyShobe's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

From weeks of rains to sunshine means fast growing grass. This course as others are striving to keep up with maintenance.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 04/24/2019:

Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club, Marty! Your feedback is much appreciated and our maintenance crew is working very hard to keep the course in the best condition possible. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.


smoneal62's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a year
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/11/2019

We appreciate your 4-star rating. We hope you join us for another round soon.


"Best Conditions I have seen this winter"


johnh1530's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in fantastic shape didn't lose one ball. Greens are in the best shape that I have seen in a long time and fast. Oakmont please don't sell this Course. Played Foxtail a day earlier and lost 10 balls but I found 20.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 03/26/2019:

Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club, John! Your positive feedback regarding the condition of the greens is much appreciated. We hope to see you out here again soon!

"still a little wet some more mowing needed"


treeranger's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/14/2019
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course fairways are in good shape but the rough still needs mowing in a lot of places. This is because it is still wet in a lot of these areas. Greens are in good shape and fast like normal. Course was cart path only today because there is still some wet area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 03/18/2019:

Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club! We appreciate your feedback and we're glad to hear you had a 4-star overall experience. As the course continues to dry out we hope you join us for another round soon!


u000004631241's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/20/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 02/21/2019:

Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a 4-star rating. Next time you're visiting the area be sure to stop by for another round.

"January in Nor Cal"


coopwayne's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Considering it is January, the round was mostly great. Pace of play was somewhat slow, but the weather was fantastic. Wet in some spots, but mostly excellent. Greens were very good. Did not find out the restaurant opened at 11:00 am until we arrived at 10:20 am. Apparently there are winter hours. First time I have heard of this.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 01/31/2019:

Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club! We're glad to hear you had a great round. We apologize if you didn't know ahead of time regarding the winter hours at the restaurant. We hope you come back soon. Be sure to Like us on Facebook for the latest course news and specials.



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/04/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/08/2019

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.



johnh1530's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 12/19/2018:

Thanks for playing Oakmont Golf Club again, John! We're thrilled you gave us another chance and the pace of play was good. Hope to see you again soon!

"Not Bad"


pinhigh1977's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2018
First time playing Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

I played this course for the first time while on vacation. Given the time of year the course was in pretty decent condition, though far from pristine. The greens were in good shape, which is the most important to me. I played on a cold and windy day, but no rain. I rode in a cart given it was 90 degrees and rain was in the forecast. I was hoping to speed around since hardly anyone was on the course.

I played the front nine with a member and we played in about 80 minutes. The course has some challenging holes and makes you think off the tee. Definitely helps to have a yardage book or a member with you as there are some weird tee shots.

My partner quit at the turn and I played the back alone. I encountered two groups of twosomes walking and they let me play right through. However, on #15 I caught up to three women who were walking. It is a par 5, so I waited on my tee shot, second shot, and approach. The next hole is a par 3 and I drove up to the tee as they were teeing off. They never ONCE offered to let me play through. I almost drove around them, but figured I paid to play and they should let me go through on 16. Nope. Surely they'll let me play through on 17. Nope. I waited on them for 4 holes without them ever seeming to consider letting me play through. I know singles don't always get the benefit, but when that single is in a cart on a day with few golfers, let them through! I played the first 14 holes in just under 2 hours and took me over an hour to finish the last 4 holes. By myself. In a cart.

Because of this, I don't think I would go back.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Oakmont Golf Club on 12/08/2018:

Thank you for playing Oakmont Golf Club! We apologize if the pace of play was slower than normal during your round. Please call 707-539-9215 x228 and ask for Heather to discuss your experience further. We hope you'll consider giving us another try in the near future.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed