Ocean Pines Golf Club

4.1449705882 4.1 stars from 5 (188)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7050 yards
  • Slope: 134
  • Rating: 73.6
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Championship 72 7050 yards 73.6 134
Back 72 6335 yards 70.5 129
Middle 72 5977 yards 68.7 125
Forward (W) 74 5572 yards 71.8 126

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 188 Reviews
5 stars:
66
4 stars:
82
3 stars:
26
2 stars:
7
1 stars:
7

recommend this course

172 out of 188 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort near local attractions convenient to the city   Great for locals advanced golfers seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u000005205626's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Awesome"


gc1370119645's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent conditions and very challenging layout but very enjoyable.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Really good track,a good solid test."


Ken6862849's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Maryland has had a tun of rain. Course very wet but held up really well. I think the better golfers will appreciate and enjoy this course. Very difficult par 3 holes. Fun par 5 holes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Course is player friendly."


u8632658's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Twice a year

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on

Very nice golf course that plays friendly especially for seniors. Course and greens in great shape. Traps well groomed and greens relatively flat. Some water holes but not many.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/13/2019

Thank you so much for sharing your review and for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones-designed layout and hope you'll travel down to play a round with us again soon!


"I'll pass on this course"


solly66's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on

Slow play and unfriendly staff. Too many other courses to go back there.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 05/13/2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback and our apologies for what was an unsatisfactory experience for you. We weren't aware of any slow-play issues on the day you played, but are sorry you weren't able to finish your round more quickly. We're especially sorry to hear that you weren't treated to courteous customer service, which is something we strive for. We'd like to know more about the issues you encountered so that we can correct them. Please feel free to reach out to Director of Golf John Malinowski at golf@oceanpinesgolf.org. We look forward to hearing from you. Thanks again.


"Bill's two cents"


u000007967629's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a wonderful day of golf at Ocean Pines, Berlin, MD. As noted course was in great shape, weather a bit overcast but perfect.

Great value for the money, especially with other area courses charging twice, or more, for greens fees.

Only negative would be having additional information detailing some holes on the course. Couple of blind shots and water coming into play. Didn't recall from previous time playing.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/03/2019

Thank you so much for your five-star review and for sharing your comments, Bill. We're glad you had a great day of golf with us and agree that Ocean Pines is one of the area's best golf values. If you haven't already, we encourage you to download our free custom app, which has on-course and driving range GPS as well as playing tips for each hole. Just search for "Ocean Pines GCC" in the App Store or Google Play. Give it a try the next time you play and let us know what you think. Thanks again!


"Good design"



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/25/2019
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens were too long...very slow....difficult to get to the hole....very bumpy


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/03/2019

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and for playing Ocean Pines. We're glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones layout and hope you'll come back and visit us again soon. If there's anything we can do to improve your experience, please feel free to reach out to us at golf@oceanpinesgolf.org. Thanks again!


"Great course"


jesusmysavior's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was a great place for a great price. Staff was fantastic and they had a Marshall named Dillon! Don’t pass this place up!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/23/2019

Thank you so much for the five-star review and for your kind comments & recommendation! We're so glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones-designed course and will be sure to pass your compliment along to our marshal. We hope you're able to make the trip over from Cambridge again soon!


"Do not leave this course out"


frednbrody's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on

This course gets my top review I am an avid golfer I have a handicap of 8 I play anywhere from 125 up to 150 rounds per season and this is one course I will always play When I visit Ocean City Maryland


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/14/2019

Thank you for your five-star review and for your kind comments. We truly couldn't ask for a higher compliment than your including us on your must-play list when visiting the Ocean City area. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to having you play another round with us again soon!




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/06/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/09/2018

Thank you so much for your five-star review and for your patronage. We're so glad to know that you had a great experience during your visit to Ocean Pines Golf Club and hope you'll play a round with us again soon!


"Good Value for the Price"


u00000456097's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/01/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff was friendly and attentive. The course is poorly marked for first time players - -no info on score card, yardage markers hard to find or non-existent. That being said, the price, available on GolfNow.com was a good value in comparison to the $80+ per round courses nearby.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/09/2018

Thank you so much for sharing your review and comments. We're glad you were treated to friendly service during your visit and agree that our Robert Trent Jones-designed course is one of the best golf values in the area!

Instead of printing yardage information on our scorecards, Ocean Pines Golf Club offers a custom app that can be downloaded for free. It has GPS, playing tips for each hole, live scoring and more. The USB charging ports on our carts make it easy to keep your devices powered up on the course. The next time you visit, be sure to ask our Golf Shop staff about our app, or search the Apple or App stores before your round. Fall is a fantastic time for golf on the Eastern Shore, so we hope you'll play with us again soon!



Jim4917240's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Little wt an muddy some spots de to all the rain. Nice course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/17/2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Jim. You're correct that the end of summer has brought some substantial rainfall to the area, although we've been able to dry out in the past week. We're glad that the somewhat soggy playing conditions didn't interfere too much with the enjoyment of your round on our Robert Trent Jones-designed course. We look forward to having you visit us again soon!



James9205170's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/15/2018

Thank you so much for your five-star review! We're glad to know that you had a great golf experience in Ocean Pines and look forward to having you play a round with us again soon!


"A Hidden Gem"


Michaelvz's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played 9 on this course today. The course is nestled in a nice community. There was some water on about half the holes. Started on time. Cart path only today as the course was really wet. Fairways were nice, the greens are pretty slow. #7 is one of the most spectacular holes you’ll find. It’s a par 3. I would highly recommend this course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/15/2018

Thank you so much for sharing your review and experience at Ocean Pines Golf Club! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones-designed course. Hole #7, which we consider our signature hole, is a perfect example of his style. We truly appreciate your recommendation and hope you'll come back and play a round - whether it's 9 holes or 18 - the next time you're in the area!



vsanzotti's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/25/2018

Thank so so much for sharing your review and for playing Ocean Pines Golf Club. We appreciate your patronage and hope you'll let us know if there's anything we could do to improve your experience at our course. In the meantime, enjoy your summer and happy hitting!


"Outstanding layout"


StanZabytko's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Golf course design is awesome (Robert Trent Jones Sr.) every hole has bunkers to be avoided! Golf course was in good shape and greens were true but slightly slow. Played on a very hot day and saw a cart girl many times, very cold water in containers and the 19 th hole is on the way to the tenth tee. Golf professional was very friendly and cart staff was helpful. You have to play this course !


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/25/2018

Wow - thank you for the five-star review and for your kind comments! We're so glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones-designed course, which we agree offers a challenging (but fair!) layout. We're especially glad to know that you were treated professionally and courteously by our staff, which is very important to us. We appreciate your recommendation and hope you'll be able to play Ocean Pines the next time you're in the area!



Song1376467's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/20/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/23/2018

Thank you so much for sharing your review! We're glad you enjoyed your round at our Robert Trent Jones-designed course and hope you'll reach out to us if there's ever anything we can do to improve upon your experience. Please come back and visit us again soon!


"Course great. Starter rude and arrogant."


u046622786's avatar
Skill:  Advanced

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/18/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Starter very rude. Talked to us like little kids. It ess cart path only and he stated if we veered off the path we would be asked to leave.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/23/2018

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. Unfortunately, we've had many guests who have disregarded our cart-path-only restrictions and have asked our starters to enforce our policy when those restrictions are ignored. We can understand why you might resent our starters mentioning this to you and wish that it weren't something we'd have to point out. We only use cart-path restrictions when our course truly can't handle cart traffic and in order to maintain our course conditions. We're sorry if you were treated rudely by our staff and will work to make sure that all of our guests are treated more kindly in the future. Thanks again for your feedback.


"Last time I’m ever playing ocean pines"


jeremy9451786's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Gave this place a second chance after a terrible experience before . Same stuff again this time . Range closed ...again .. staff was rude and condescending. When this place has new people running the place and different staff I may try agin . Until then play at ur own risk .. cause they don’t care frankly of u come or not . Classy


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 07/23/2018

We're very sorry you had a such a poor experience at Ocean Pines Golf Club and appreciate your sharing your comments with us. We do close our driving range every Tuesday at 4pm so that we can hand-pick it in preparation for mowing on Wednesday morning. We also periodically have to close the range if we've received heavy rain fall. We're disappointed to hear that you weren't treated courteously by our staff and would like to hear more about what you encountered during your time with us. We definitely do care about our guests' satisfaction and try as much as possible to ensure they have a positive visit. Please feel free to reach out to our Director of Golf at 410-641-6052 or golf@oceanpinesgolf.org so we can see if there's a way to improve upon your experiences. Thanks again


"Always challenging"


cityman's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Ocean Pines is one of the more challenging golf courses in the OC area. You have to manage the course and not always go for it. This course will make you play better on other courses.........


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/16/2018

Thank you so much for your five-star review and for your kind comments. We agree that our Robert Trent Jones course offers a challenging layout, but we think it's a fair one as well. We're glad to know that your time on our course has made you a better golfer - we can't think of a better compliment! Since you're just a short drive from Salisbury we hope you'll be able to visit us again soon!



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed