Hillsborough Country Club

4.0604705882 4.1 stars from 5 (191)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 5840 yards
  • Slope: 124
  • Rating: 68.2
  • Layout

  • 146 Wertsville Rd, Hillsborough, New Jersey 08844, Somerset County
  • (908) 369-3322
  • (908) 369-7116
  • hillsboroughgolf.com

Year built: 1971
Architect(s): George Fazio
Type: Semi-Private
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 70 5840 yards 68.2 124
Red (W) 73 5445 yards 74.1 121

Hillsborough Country Club is tucked away amongst the foothills of the Sourland Mountains. The golf course overlooks the beautiful Amwell Valley, sprawling across lush rolling hills gently sprinkled with mature trees. The par-70 layout is player friendly enough for all skill levels, it is even gentle enough for beginners. While it may not be what you're looking for if you want a long and challenging test, it's great for a casual round with a few tricky surprises. Accuracy will be generously rewarded but the golf course isn't overly punishing if you're slightly errant. Golfers will come across a fair amount of strategically placed sand traps as well as the occasional water hazard. In addition to the course, you can get even more short game practice in on Hillsborough Country Club's practice chipping and putting greens and there is also a driving range available.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 191 Reviews
5 stars:
46
4 stars:
96
3 stars:
33
2 stars:
10
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

166 out of 191 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for wildlife/ scenic views locals advanced golfers   Challenges include elevation changes narrow fairways undulating greens   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u3207227's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2019
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Fun course"


Ksbr's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is relatively a short course and the condition of the course is generally excellent. The fairways and greens are in very good condition, the tee boxes could be better. Greens are well maintained, fast and interesting breaks.

This course is great to help improve on'e's game.. It's very possible to be on the green in 2 for most par 4 and definitely on 3 for all par 5s. The most important thing is course management and this is an excellent course to help you realize that you do not have kill the ball. It was a fun round and would play here again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Ray"


RPT's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/28/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well designed course with some very challenging holes. Will definitely plan another trip. Enjoyed the day


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



rbgoodfellow's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000006362872's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/22/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



benndoyle's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great greens"


Resultspt's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging but fun course greens were in great shape and the pro was very helpful in explaining the layout and speed of the greens


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



njgolferkmc's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"One of the best around the area with friendly staff"


u962436168's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on

Short and simple, the course is beautifully maintained and the staff, especially drew, treated us with respect and made us feel welcomed. Can't wait to be back to play again! I'm


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000004259422's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2019
Previously played Walked Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u000004259422's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fun But Challenging"


GVBELL73's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I really enjoyed this course. Pace of play was outstanding. Not overcrowded. Greens were soft but very very fast. Almost unplayable fast. There were a few challenging holes were accuracy is very important. Over all this was a very enjoyable course to play. I would recommend it, however probably not for a novice golfer.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Decent golf couse"


jhyuen's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The golf course is maintain ok and is being there for a long time and will need some road improvement to make it better.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Challenging and beautiful!"


u728951692's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

What more could you ask for! This course is gorgeous, with some of the best course views in NJ. Greens are true, challenging, and well maintained. You can tell the greens keepers care. Club house is old school, unpretentious, and the crew are cool dudes. The back nine is one of the best. Thanks for the awesome round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Hasn`t changed in 35 years"


rjd5000's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

not sure who rated this course 4 & 5 stars but they must not get out much. Course was in poor shape. greens were bumpy and slow with 5 types of grass. bunkers had no sand in them...rough hadn`t been cut in who know how long making finding your ball difficult. course had standing water everywhere(rained day before) I played it 35 years ago...it ill be another 35 before I play it again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 05/30/2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Hillsborough Country Club. We hope to see you again in the future.


"Top Notch"


dac2527's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff is the best in the area. No request is too much. Course was a little wet but very playable. Always in great condition. Best value in three counties.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice day"


Fivefishers's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lots of rain last 2 weeks.. We were allowed to ride fairways except for 4 holes well done.. Free bottled on course a nice touch, we’ll be back!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Some unique holes"


Bpbp's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/25/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time at Hillsborough in 2019. The course is in excellent shape.

Challenging because of many slopes on fairways. But fair!

Will be back


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



u000004259422's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u7981145's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed