Princeton Country Club

3.5582941176 3.6 stars from 5 (178)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6005 yards
  • Slope: 124
  • Rating: 68.8
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: No
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: No
Practice hole: No
Simulator: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Mercer County Golf Academy"

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: No tank tops or cutoffs

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 6005 yards 68.8 124
White 70 5765 yards 68.0 121
Red (W) 72 5345 yards 70.9 123

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.4 stars from 5
Value: 3.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 178 Reviews
5 stars:
29
4 stars:
76
3 stars:
46
2 stars:
13
1 stars:
14

recommend this course

145 out of 178 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for walkers locals seniors   Challenges include narrow fairways bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender


4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2019
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/14/2019

Thank you for visiting us at Princeton Country Club. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.


"Positive Experience"


aazarow's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Typical muni course. Conditions were fairly good though obvious damage from a rainy Spring season. Greens were in very good condition. Teed off at 745 and played a full round in just over 4 hours.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/14/2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us aazarow. Your feedback is valuable, and we look forward to delivering you excellent service again soon. Princeton Country Club thanks you!


"Mercer County Booking System Needs to Be Fixed!!!!!"


u521127235's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I am a Mercer County resident who booked my tee time through the Mercer County app. When I arrived at Princeton for my round I was told it was booked through Golf Now. I did not do this. The person in the pro shop made the proper adjustment to our fee. The Princeton course is not the best Mercer County course but it isn’t ok.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/24/2019

Hiu521127235. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Princeton Country Club.


"Tuesday Merry Men regular 7am to 720 tee eimes"


chuckmosc13's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We play this coarse almost every Tuesday through the summer and the greens are the best in Mercer County and if the weather stays good the coarse can be very nice. The staff is very friendly.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/24/2019

Hi chuckmosc13. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back!


"Better than expected!"


jpgiblin's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played Saturday, uncrowded good pace of play. Greens in good shape, fairways a bit rough, but it's been very wet. Friendly staff, bar and food available


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/10/2019

Hijpgiblin. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Princeton Country Club.


"Wish we had known"


jimhamiltonjr's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2019
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Granted, this is the weak link in the Mercer County owned courses, but we did not expect the conditions experienced this round. We were not forewarned about the aeration of the greens, so putting was at a day at the beach. However, we had no idea that much of the back nine would have greens with no holes and active grooming as we tried to hit them and not the groundskeeper. Yes, the price of the round was favorable, but had we known the suspect condition of the course we would have paid more to play a course in better condition.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/22/2019

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your round with us. We're actively working on improving conditions here at Princeton and we hope you will return in the future for a far better experience.


"Failure"


howtrace's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

More bare spots than a junk yard. No care being given to this course. Although it’s mid April condition of fairways and greens are very poor compare to other nearby courses. Not worth more than 20 bucks in my opinion.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/22/2019

Thank you for providing helpful feedback. We're working hard to improve conditions for our golfers so that future rounds will be a vast improvement.



u000004259422's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/12/2019

Thank you for the helpful feedback!


"Really bad conditions"


u314159266082's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on

Even at that price <20$ you expect better than that. Worst golf course I’ve ever played. Greens and fairways in a Terri le state.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/25/2019

Thank you for leaving us four stars!



twb61's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/17/2019
Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/22/2019

Thank you for leaving us five stars!



pmchen65's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2019
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/25/2019

Thank you for the helpful feedback!


"Poor Drainage"


btk2000's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2019
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very wet and soggy fairways through out. entire course. Condition of the course was so bad, they closed back 9 and ended up playing front 9 twice. The course really needs to upgrade their drainage system. I honestly feel course condition was unplayable. They should have closed the course and provide refund especially when they only notified closing of back 9 after I got to the course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



300Lenny's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


u103955826's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

Playing here is great. Although the back 9 are known to be muddy.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/17/2019

Hiu103955826. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Princeton Country Club.



Zappone's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice public course"


u00000733133's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/10/2018
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

You will see plenty of reviews right now stating that the course is not in good shape. No doubt it has been beaten up by the extremes in our weather over the last six months - either soaking wet or hot, hot, hot. SEVERAL area courses have dealt with the same thing.

To me, it seemed obvious that Princeton/Mercer County Golf is trying hard to get the course back in great shape. I found some holes to be in terrible shape (maybe three to four holes), several in adequate shape and a handful in fine/excellent condition.

This was my first time playing Princeton and I walked it. At age 56 I haven't walked a course in a good ten years. This was a joy.and pleasure. Overcast, temps ranged between 70 and 80 during my round - and it was a great walk in the park.

Princeton is not overly long, but you will be challenged to keep your shots straight off the tee and out of the trees. I didn't excel at that today, but was generally able to recover whenever I hit a wayward shot by punching right back out and forward onto the fairway.

I will return for sure and will enjoy seeing the course improve once we get past this season we've had. It will be a regular part of my course rotation from now on.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Princeton Country Club on 10/16/2018:

Thank you for leaving us a very kind four-star review! We're certainly hard at work to improve and perfect our conditions. Please come and see us again soon!

"Needs TLC"


Michael2410512's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/27/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played the front 9 twice has been raining for last couple weeks so it's understandable, the course played well and was playable but it has taken a beating. I was happy and I'll be booking to play there again soon to play the 18.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Princeton Country Club on 10/16/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great four-star review, Michael! We hope you'll return during better weather for an even better experience.

"Want a refund!"


DavidFerrero's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/20/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Holes #13 through #17 were closed. Course was aerated. fairways were destroyed greens, poorest conditions. No warning from golfnow regarding conditions.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Princeton Country Club on 10/16/2018:

Thank you for the feedback! With the weather, our conditions have been adversely affected. If your tee time was a GolfNow Hot Deal, please give GolfNow a call to ask for a refund. Otherwise, please talk to the attendant in the golf shop regarding a refund.

"Great tree lined fairways"


antonuccim's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/15/2018
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the staff was very nice. Course was in great shape and there is sand in the traps.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Princeton Country Club on 10/16/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great four-star review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your round with us. Please come and see us again soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed