Tara Greens Golf Center

2.8513823529 2.9 stars from 5 (27)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 36
  • Length: 3132 yards
  • Slope: 122
  • Rating: 35.3
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Men's 36 3132 yards 35.3 122
Ladies 38 2777 yards 34.9 113

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 2.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.7 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 27 Reviews
5 stars:
0
4 stars:
9
3 stars:
10
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
4

recommend this course

18 out of 27 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"No longer has a full course"


Jhriniak's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/18/2018
Previously played Used cart

Reviewed on

Tara Greens no longer has a full course to play , Starting in April 2019 they re opened but the course has been sold . Not sure if they have any plans on re opening the full course


I don't recommend this course


"Challenging course layout"


edmondragon's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/26/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff members were great; the course layout was interesting; typical straight layout on the par 4 holes, but the two par 5s were quite interesting; one had about. 70 degree turn wto the left with trees protecting that portion of the fairway which required hitting over or through some very mature trees; the next par 5 which was immediately after the first was a curved 600+ yard hole that required very long shots just to reach the green; it was a fun round that could have been more enjoyable if the greens were not quite as shaggy, but it was a fun round that played fast except for the elderly walker who challenged that I had better get through the twosome in front of him because he wasn’t going to play behind them and me; needless to say, I got through the twosome and didn’t see the gentleman until I was already rounding for the second nine and he was finishing #7.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Dasika5987242's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Fun Casual Course but Course Conditions may disappoint"


GalCallaway's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
New Jersey Advisor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/25/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

First, I struggled on the question "Would you recommend to friends" and decided "No" because most of my golf friends would not be happy with the course conditions. I wish GolfAdvisor had option for various types of players.

If you just want to have fun with a friend and don't care about a perfectly manicured course then Tara Green is for you. Or maybe you just want to practice your swing but don't care about less than great fairways or bumpy greens. Note: some of the greens were in great shape some were not.

The layout of the course is interesting with some doglegs and long holes that will challenge you but the course conditions take away from some of the fun. I get they probably want to keep the price down but with a bit more investment in the condition of the course, they might find more golfers playing their course.

For example, even if you hit a perfect straight long drive down the middle of the "fairway" on the longest hole (#7) you ball will not be in short grass. They really take the fun out of a great drive by having crappy grass in the landing area (this was the experience for me and the guy I played with that hit the ball a mile). In fact, it is puzzling (on some holes) they way they cut the grass but my guess is that they are working with what they have within their budget.

Overall, I would rather pay a few more bucks or look for deals on GolfNow for courses in the area with better course conditions


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



jlhagy66's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I learned to play golf on this 9 hole course15 years ago. It has not changed much. You play the course twice. There are some 9 hole courses that do not extend that privledge. Some charge double the price to play 18, not Tara greens. They do what is in their budget to keep the conditions enjoyable. I am sure that it must be challenging for them to compete with the 18 hole courses.There are many geese in the area between the 2nd and 8th holes. The 6th and 7th holes are challenging. The bunkers need work, some I use my putter to get out. Over all it is a fun place to play without pressure. The course keeps you straight on your shots. The staff is very friendly. Try it, you’ll like it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/04/2018

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a four star review of Tara Greens. We are happy that you have fun playing here. - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens



u807286754's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/04/2018

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Tara Greens. We hope to see you again soon! - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens




3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/26/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 06/04/2018

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Tara Greens. We hope to see you again soon! - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens


"It is okay to be a practice course."


u813008368's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I only play here when the rate is less than $15. I figure it is better to come here than going to a driving rage for the same money. The greens are horrible here.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 06/04/2018

Hello. Thank you for playing Tara Greens. Our staff continually aims for improving the playing conditions of the course. We apologize that you felt the greens were horrible. We hope that you return to give us another chance as we continually improve the conditions of the course. Thank you. - Alexa C. of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens”


"Nice pratice course!"


u19569511's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
First time playing Walked Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course prohibited motorized carts on this day because of wet conditions due to heavy rain 2 days prior. They let me take a pull cart for free since the tee time included a cart. Some very challenging holes, especially 5-7 (625 yd par 5). All the greens were in nice shape. Many people were hitting multiple shots or playing 'best ball' by themselves. Low key golf experience, good to take a beginner out during slow times. Also has a driving range and Pitch & Putt Course on the grounds.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/04/2018

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a four star review of Tara Greens. We are happy that you enjoyed your day with us. - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens


"Best value"


u2598711's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Simple 9 hole course 2 par 3s 2 par 5s and the rest par 4.

Nice course for beginners and high handicappers well maintained great pace of play and a solid driving range.

Can't beat the value here for a solid day on the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/30/2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a four star review of Tara Greens. We are happy that you enjoyed your day with us. - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens


"Good course for the money"


sloan44's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played at Tara Greens for many years.The fairways are a little barren.However they keep the greens in good shape and thats all that matters.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Easy


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/30/2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Tara Greens. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your round with our greens in good shape! We hope to see you again soon! - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens



u000004923846's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is well maintained fairway are dry greens are well watered it gets better every time I'm there


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/30/2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Tara Greens. We are continuing to improve the conditions of the bunkers and fairways and appreciate that you've noticed these improvements. As we just started managing the course in April, we hope that you visit again in the near future to see more continual updates! - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens


"Couse has some interesting holes."


u363157604's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I have been playing this course the last 2 years, play about twice a week...This year there have been vast improvements to the tee boxes and greens...some holes are getting nice approached to the greens...fairways are good...some spotty areas, which i think will be corrected next year...staff is friendly and will continue to play here...


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/30/2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a four star review of Tara Greens. We are continuing to improve the conditions of the bunkers and fairways. As we just started managing the course in April, we hope that you visit again in the near future to see more continual updates! - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens


"Good Value"


Joseoh's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoyed the Round.its 9 holes that you play twice,a little unusual but I enjoyed it.the staff are excellent and I will return soon


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/30/2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Tara Greens. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your round as well as interactions with the staff. We can't wait to see you when you return! - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens


"Good value for the money"


joung88joung's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I go to Tara golf a few times a week

They had a miniature golf, driving range, pitch & putts and 9 hole golf.

It is perfect to play golf with family


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Getting better"


u882611958's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tara Greens had fallen on hard times. It now has new management and it is beginning to show. Greens are in good shape, tee boxes are fine, and many of the bunkers now have sand. On the downside the fairways are a bit shabby and some of the bunkers are awful. The course layout is a fair test for your game. Tara Greens is a good place to practice your game and to play a fairly quick round. Bottom line is that the course is fun to play and with continued improvements will only get better.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/30/2017

Hello. Thank you for playing Tara Greens. Our staff continually aims for improving the playing conditions of the course. As we are relatively new to the course and just started managing the facility in April, we are currently focusing on improving greens, tees, and fairways. In the future, we plan to address the bunkers. We hope that you return to give us another chance as we continually improve the conditions of the course. Thank you. - Alexa C. of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens


"Good course for the money"


uLCQZ4909LC's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens are looking great, but the fairways have a way to go.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/08/2017

Hello, Thank you for visiting Tara Greens. In order to better serve you and our customers, could you provide additional details on your rating? Thank you - Alexa C. - appliedgolf management of Tara Greens Golf Center



None's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Twice a year

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/05/2017

Hello, Thank you for visiting Tara Greens. In order to better serve you and our customers, could you provide details on your rating? Thank you - Alexa C. - appliedgolf management of Tara Greens Golf Center


"Horrible shape, Cheap greens fees"


stevecur's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are rock hard, fairways are rock hard, rough is rock hard, i hit a PW on to the green and it bounced 25 feet in the air.

No drinking water on the course. There was no difference between the rough and fairway, it was just weeds everywhere.

On the plus side, the carts are fast, nobody was on the course, and it was 13 dollars to pay, a good place for a first time golfer who has no comparison to another course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 08/08/2017

“Hello. Thank you for playing Tara Greens. Our staff continually aims for improving the playing conditions of the course. As we are relatively new to the course and just started managing the facility in April, we are currently focusing on improving greens, tees, fairways and bunkers. We hope that you return to give us another chance as we continually improve the conditions of the course. Thank you. - Alexa C. of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens”




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/12/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/31/2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a four star review of Tara Greens. Hope to see you again soon! - Alexa of appliedgolf management at Tara Greens



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed