Beekman Country Club - Taconic/Highland

4.1046352941 4.1 stars from 5 (253)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6532 yards
  • Slope: 122
  • Rating: 69.6
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6532 yards 69.6 122
White 72 6195 yards 68.8 119
White (W) 72 6195 yards 74.0 129
Gold 72 5416 yards N/A N/A
Red (W) 72 5275 yards 69.6 119

Tucked away in the foothills of the Berkshires, Beekman Country Club sits right where the mountains rise from the Hudson Valley, which provides spectacular views throughout the 27-hole golf course. Divided into three nines, the holes offer three different 18-hole courses with unique but equally scenic vistas. The Taconic/Highland combination starts with the most challenging nine of the three and ends with the most picturesque. The Taconic nine features narrow fairways and tricky water hazards. The back nine hardly gets any easier. The Highland climbs up over 500 feet, giving golfers a panoramic view from the valley to Stormville Mountain. The par-3 fourth hole on the Highland nine is the club's signature. Noted for its beauty, the hole is especially stunning in the springtime when the dogwood trees that line its fairways are in full bloom.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 253 Reviews
5 stars:
78
4 stars:
130
3 stars:
34
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
8

recommend this course

233 out of 252 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for locals playing multiple courses seniors   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers water hazards   Great for drinks 19th hole specials watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

bobberne's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beekman is our "local course and we (my wife and I) play a lot, usually 9 holes. Beekman has three nine hole layouts. It is not long but challenging for beginning and intermediate golfers. We have played Beekman many times over three years and it is is better condition every year, though this year the rain has been a challenge. The staff are quite good and friendly. The prices are fair but they face the usual financial pressures confronting all public courses thus they schedule outings when they can. if you book during or just before or after an outing, play and pace can be affected but if you call they will let you know when the outings are scheduled and it gives you a chance to work around it. When we have brought guests to Beekman they are always impressed.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Course conditions were great"


Esq61's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/25/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was surprised at how good the course conditions were today. The greens were in excellent shape. Ball rolled nicely. It rained hard, but the course drained quickly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Short but challenging"


gfunk100's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on

Was surprised that the length from the tips are just under 6500 yards, but don't let that fool you. Definitely requires shot- making skills on many holes. The length may be short, but the greens are very challenging. Miss the green and you will test your short game skills. Heavy rough in and around these small greens with undulations. Many of the greens will fool you if you're not familiar. Hitting it past the pins coming in on approach will ruin you on many holes. Best advice: play smart, get your yardage correct and don't underestimate the course due to length; the greens make up for lack of length- especially on the par 5's which are short for the most part. Greens are true. Don't bounce the balls close to pin. Requires more finesse than going right at on short shots. Ball doesn't spin as much and greens are super tricky. These small greens will challenge you. Great place overall!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Course in good condition"


EmerichJanny's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/22/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were in great shape, as was the entire course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



wbvoge's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Competitive"


heartmender1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

COURSE IS IN GREAT SHAPE, BIG DIFFERENT FROM A COUPLE OF YEARS AGO. WOULD PLAY IT AGAIN. ML


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



RG9971003C1279C5AB6E's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Beekman golf"


u395409243's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

Overall great place to go staff is friendly carts are very nice love the 3 9hole courses I suggest the highlands definitely my favorite


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Trying times"


bowski76's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2019
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

All the area Golf courses are saturated, they have been like this since October and it's only getting worse.

Beekman had a strict cart path only policy when we played. With the soaking conditions, the course played at a good rate. The starter was managing the players going out on 1 and which nine the players coming in for their second nine, he was doing a really good job.

Even with the wet conditions we enjoyed our round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great value for the $$"


bobpineridge's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was decent. We've had a lot of rain lately, so it was cart path's only. It was wet in spots, but to be expected. I always enjoy playing golf at Beekman. Nice views of the mountains too.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"If you like 5hr rounds...this is for you!"


u000005608246's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/25/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

I’m a local, been playing Beekman for years. Pace of play was always a little slow on the weekends but since their new “membership” deal which they ran for months, the place is PACKED even mid week. Played 18, mid week, at 11am and played the first 9 in 2h45, back 9 wasn’t much better at 2h30...other than that the course was in decent shape, staff is great.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Good Value"


u8283445's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2019
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course for beginner to amateurs. Need to maintenance tee boxes and greens. Cam be a good value for the area when hot deal. Fairways are a little rough as well as the tee boxes on most holes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great value"


seamuscarey's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

Great course and conditions. Always maintained well, and a great value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice Day On The Course"


Robert8058493's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/16/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Our round went off at scheduled T Time. Staff is friendly and helpful. Course conditions were good. Only complaint is that this course has 27 holes and signage to direct you on each of the courses could be improved. A nice touch after your round is that you can drive the cart onto the parking lot and unload your clubs.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great Muni"


trek3129's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2019
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course just opened and in excellent condition for starting. Having 27 holes allows for keeping pace of play moving. Highly recommend trying it. Very close to Taconic Highway for access.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great BUT..."


Rpalmer23's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/22/2019
Previously played

Reviewed on

They have three nine hole courses at Beekman, but the starters are not the best, and you will ALWAYS start on highland, regardless of whether or not Valley or Taconic have players on them or if anyone is currently making the turn. I have made the turn and been 2 foresomes deep at the next tee on the weekends. Outside of that it’s a great course and really nice during the week.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u6813161's avatar
Age:  65+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good beginner to mid level course"


u8283445's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2019
First time playing

Reviewed on

Good for beginners or casual golfers. Early in the season so conditions were not as good as they will be later in season. Fun course and great price!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



eddie6170259's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2018
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



ytc0311's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course



wiwebb's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed